Crucial M500 SSD slow windows 7 boot - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-09-2014, 04:36 PM   #21 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Crucial M500 SSD slow windows 7 boot

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
In Windows 7 it just kept sending me the failed HDD warning.
You should have just backed up what you needed, took it outside and put a bullet into the drive.

You also said your hard drive was a seagate right ?
Not trying to troll you here, but don't rely on seagates to last for a long time. :|
I rather you put 70.00 bucks towards western digital next time.
6 years straight of WD and buy frequently during the time line because of the service and friendly tech support.
__________________

-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 05:09 PM   #22 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default Re: Crucial M500 SSD slow windows 7 boot

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Something on your HDDs is causing you to hang. And since I have the exact 1.5TB Seagate that is dying and sometimes causing exact that issue I'm going to point my finger at that. I would run Seagate's tool to see if you might have an issue with that drive.

Oh crap that is my old HDD I used to have until it just failed randomly
The one I have now is Seagate ST1500Dm003-9yn16g according to crystal disk info

I really should update my sig

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
OP was complaining about a 30 second boot time, not me. Mine is quicker. Like I was saying though, 30 seconds is still quick. Who cares? I remember when XP used to take about 3 minutes to load on a Pentium 2. I've learned to not care about boot times.

Edit: As to the drive, mine was causing my programs to hang and anything I did on the desktop in Windows 8. In Windows 7 it just kept sending me the failed HDD warning.

Actually 30 seconds is good but that is without my HDDs connected but I need access to those drives. With the drives it is almost 1.5min or so stuck at the starting windows screen.


Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeTech View Post
You should have just backed up what you needed, took it outside and put a bullet into the drive.

You also said your hard drive was a seagate right ?
Not trying to troll you here, but don't rely on seagates to last for a long time. :|
I rather you put 70.00 bucks towards western digital next time.
6 years straight of WD and buy frequently during the time line because of the service and friendly tech support.

LOL I had someone on another forum recommend me a Seagate when the 1.5tb the one still mentioned in my sig died and said they just had a bad run with the original 1.5tb drives. They told me to avoid WD like the plague as they fail quite quickly.

My old WD drive in my old rig has 63072 hours on time according to HD tune and that in itself is throwing an error. I can't remember exactly what it said but I think it was just because the drive had a lot of milage.



EDIT: sig fixed
__________________

__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 05:52 PM   #23 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,278
Default Re: Crucial M500 SSD slow windows 7 boot

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeTech View Post
You should have just backed up what you needed, took it outside and put a bullet into the drive.

You also said your hard drive was a seagate right ?
Not trying to troll you here, but don't rely on seagates to last for a long time. :|
I rather you put 70.00 bucks towards western digital next time.
6 years straight of WD and buy frequently during the time line because of the service and friendly tech support.
I have all Seagate drives besides 2 and they all run fine. All but 2 are older than 5 years too. This particular drive was one of the bad batch my best friend had some luck with. When he upgraded to a 32TB RAID5 array he gave me this drive to get it out of his closet. I figured it was going to die anyways so I didn't keep anything important on it. It isn't plugged in but still sitting in my machine because I'm too lazy to take it out right now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikee View Post
Oh crap that is my old HDD I used to have until it just failed randomly
The one I have now is Seagate ST1500Dm003-9yn16g according to crystal disk info

I really should update my sig




Actually 30 seconds is good but that is without my HDDs connected but I need access to those drives. With the drives it is almost 1.5min or so stuck at the starting windows screen.





LOL I had someone on another forum recommend me a Seagate when the 1.5tb the one still mentioned in my sig died and said they just had a bad run with the original 1.5tb drives. They told me to avoid WD like the plague as they fail quite quickly.

My old WD drive in my old rig has 63072 hours on time according to HD tune and that in itself is throwing an error. I can't remember exactly what it said but I think it was just because the drive had a lot of milage.



EDIT: sig fixed
You should plug one in at a time to figure out who is holding you back. Then scan the drive for errors or check to see if any programs on it could be affecting the boot up.

Yea the 1.5TB drives from Seagate you avoid big time. I think it was the 7200.11s or 10s. Can't remember for sure and too lazy to take mine out to see. This particular one has been running for years though. Mounting it in Linux caused it to go crazy for some reason and I've had issues since.

As to WD, all but 2 WD drives I've ever owned have failed hard on me. Fail so hard I couldn't even try to swap a board to grab my data. So although their drives are just as fine as Seagate I tend to stick to Seagate because I've had good luck with them.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 06:24 PM   #24 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: Crucial M500 SSD slow windows 7 boot

I've used both, Back when I built my last system I got a Seagate 1TB and that has been run solid since 08 as the main drive and about a yr and a half ago added a SSD and the seagate is still running solid and I still use that PC a lot, I use the new one for gaming mostly and surfing the forums and the old one for everything else. I've had some great luck with WD too and is what I usually get but Seagate has been doing me well too and got the 3TB on sale so went with Seagate again for my storage drive.
__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 06:29 PM   #25 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Crucial M500 SSD slow windows 7 boot

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Yea the 1.5TB drives from Seagate you avoid big time. I think it was the 7200.11s or 10s. Can't remember for sure and too lazy to take mine out to see. This particular one has been running for years though. Mounting it in Linux caused it to go crazy for some reason and I've had issues since.
The 1.5TB SeaGate I have was one of the "bad" ones that was affected by the bad firmware. I didn't catch it in time, and ended up having to send it into SeaGate to get them to flash it (unless they just swapped out the controller card, which is possible as well). After that though, it's been running fine ever since.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 06:54 PM   #26 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Crucial M500 SSD slow windows 7 boot

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Yea the 1.5TB drives from Seagate you avoid big time. I think it was the 7200.11s or 10s. Can't remember for sure and too lazy to take mine out to see. This particular one has been running for years though. Mounting it in Linux caused it to go crazy for some reason and I've had issues since.

As to WD, all but 2 WD drives I've ever owned have failed hard on me. Fail so hard I couldn't even try to swap a board to grab my data. So although their drives are just as fine as Seagate I tend to stick to Seagate because I've had good luck with them.
Heh I guess you and I are like mirrors of a pond right ?
Different specs different **** ups on different hardware huh pal ? -_-
When you put both companys side by side they do fail on the same levels over a period of time I've seen some wd drives in the past I stay away from like the plague.


But yeah mikee do what pp suggested if you feel the need go ahead and rma them to seagate.
Ask the technician if they will give you a different model version than the one you bought.
-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 11:10 AM   #27 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default Re: Crucial M500 SSD slow windows 7 boot

I think I have boiled the issue down to the AHCI driver. I saw a thread on another forum that they had 1 ssd and no hdds and they had over a minute at the splash screen and said they updated their AHCI driver and the issue was resolved. I tried this but after the driver update the computer freezes at the end of setup and I can't click finish. then I hit the reset button and windows bsods before fully booting. I system restored back but then I'm back to the slow boot. I wonder where I can get a working AHCI driver. I thought the AMD one would work since its an amd chipset.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 11:35 AM   #28 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Crucial M500 SSD slow windows 7 boot

What are the specs of your main board? Model and serial numbers?
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 02:15 PM   #29 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default Re: Crucial M500 SSD slow windows 7 boot

my motherboard is an ASUS M4A88T-M/USB3. Not sure about the serial number
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 02:18 PM   #30 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,278
Default Re: Crucial M500 SSD slow windows 7 boot

Old driver could be your issues.
http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mis...PVistaWin7.zip
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
programs freezing on Crucial M500 SSD mikee Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 05-03-2014 12:18 AM
Crucial M4 SSD - Getting 3GB/s speeds instead of 6GB/s speeds? smashedpumpkins New Systems | Building and Buying 0 05-08-2012 05:26 AM
3 minute boot time w/ SSD? Why so slow? nirv23 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-06-2011 05:12 PM
Can you have a SSD 60GB as a boot drive and a 500GB HDD for storage but have smart response enabled on the SSD? matteuk New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-27-2011 01:12 PM
Which SSD would your recommend: OCZ Agility 2 60GB or Crucial RealSSD C300 64GB? AliceN1derland New Systems | Building and Buying 8 03-23-2011 01:02 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.