Crossfire/SLI??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-08-2007, 06:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 63
Default Crossfire/SLI???

Hi,
Currently have a ATI Gcard BUT want to upgrade Mobo and have seen one I like BUT it's SLI. Can I still use my Single ATI card in it untill I can get the 8800GT and then another Nvidia card to utilise the SLI? Didn't know if it would be ok to use a single Gcard weather it was ATI / Nvidia.
OR....
Can you tell me out of the two following Mobos would be good:
1.DFI Infinity 975X/G SKT SKT775 conroe Core2Duo ready DDR2 Crossfire 8channel audio ATX

2.Asus P5N-E SLI 650i Socket 775 PCI-E Onboard Audio ATX

Currently have a ASRock 4CoreDual-SATA2 Socket 775 8 Channel Audio AGP PCI-E ATX Motherboard
as I needed to upgrade to a PCI C2Duo mobo but couldn't afford it all together so had to keep DDR and AGP to start with now I have all the bits I just want to see out of the two boards would be better.

Thanks,
Shaun.
__________________

Shaundale is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 07:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 215
Send a message via AIM to ReverseFluxx Send a message via MSN to ReverseFluxx
Default Re: Crossfire/SLI???

You can run with a single PCI-e card on an SLI motherboard perfectly fine.
__________________

__________________
http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/sf/type/2/qlutch.png
Core 2 Duo E6850, Foxconn P35A-S, 8GB DDR2-800, 160+160=320GB SATAII RAID 0, BFG 9800GTX, Windows 7 Pro, HP 24" LCD, AG Neovo 19" LCD
ReverseFluxx is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 10:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Crossfire/SLI???

If it has a PCI-e slot you can run a PCI-e card.

nVidia chipsets are more geared towards nVidia and ATi/AMD chipsets are more geared towards ATi. You'll probably see better performance matching the card with the chipset, but any PCI-e card will work in any PCI-e slot.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 12:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Crossfire/SLI???

For the amount of money you will spend on 2 8800 gt cards, you will get better performance for less money from 1 ultra.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 12:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Crossfire/SLI???

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
For the amount of money you will spend on 2 8800 gt cards, you will get better performance for less money from 1 ultra.
True but not at huge resolutions.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 12:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 215
Send a message via AIM to ReverseFluxx Send a message via MSN to ReverseFluxx
Default Re: Crossfire/SLI???

This is why I am somewhat against SLI. If you go out and spend $730 on 2 8800GTS cards, you'll only get a minor performance increase at big resolutions over $650 on an 8800Ultra. For most people, getting a 3fps increase at 1600x1200 doesn't justify an extra $80, as well as the extra power and heat issues that SLI can create.
__________________
http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/sf/type/2/qlutch.png
Core 2 Duo E6850, Foxconn P35A-S, 8GB DDR2-800, 160+160=320GB SATAII RAID 0, BFG 9800GTX, Windows 7 Pro, HP 24" LCD, AG Neovo 19" LCD
ReverseFluxx is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 01:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Crossfire/SLI???

i th ought the same thats why i got an ultra and i havent been this satisfied...
every game maxed out with my highest resoultion and no slow downs...
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 01:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Crossfire/SLI???

well if you wanna play 2560x1600... no way in **** 1 ultra is gonna get the job done... unless your playing half-life 2 or something.. lol
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 01:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Crossfire/SLI???

Quote:
Originally Posted by NosBoost300 View Post
well if you wanna play 2560x1600... no way in **** 1 ultra is gonna get the job done... unless your playing half-life 2 or something.. lol
well, i just got a 22 inch monitor and a 24 inch tv...and im not planning on buying a bigger monitor or tv for a long long time....

SO im good to go and dont have to worry about those resolutions..

hows crossfire working for you though?
whats your 3dmark?
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 01:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Crossfire/SLI???

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyq View Post
well, i just got a 22 inch monitor and a 24 inch tv...and im not planning on buying a bigger monitor or tv for a long long time....

SO im good to go and dont have to worry about those resolutions..

hows crossfire working for you though?
whats your 3dmark?
no crossfire yet... still waiting at my door for the ups man to come with my damned pro... i won't have crossfire probably for another 3 or 4 weeks.... i should fix my sig as its deceiving people!
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.