Crossfire doesn't seem to be running properly - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-15-2013, 03:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6
Default Crossfire doesn't seem to be running properly

Hello,

I just bought an extra 7870 for my system, and my computer recognizes it if I look under device manager. I have already updated the drivers and checked the device driver updates through the device manger, and both are up to date.

Running Catalyst Control Center version 2013.0328.2218.38225. If I go under the CrossFireX performance, even though it is enabled, there is a message that says "Choose to enable CrossfireX for added graphics performance".

This is the first time that I have used multiple video cards, as I have usually bought 1 higher end card, but I got a good deal on these.

Here are my computer specs:
i5-3570K
16GB Ram
Antec 850 Watt power supply
2x Radeon 7870 video cards (showing as 4.1 GHz in DirectX diagnostic)
Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit

Wondering if anyone might be able to help me out? Let me know if you need anymore information.

Thanks!
__________________

Kevin86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 12:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Crossfire doesn't seem to be running properly

What kind of motherboard do you have ?
Also is it crossfire ready or no ?
__________________

-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 01:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6
Default Re: Crossfire doesn't seem to be running properly

It is a Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H and it is Crossfire and SLI ready.
Kevin86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 03:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,024
Default Re: Crossfire doesn't seem to be running properly

Do you have the crossfire bridge connected? This says it's required.
http://sites.amd.com/PublishingImage...hart_1618W.jpg
__________________
7700k 32GB RAM 512GB 960 Pro GTX 1080 NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 64GB Nexus 6P || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam/Origin: iFargle
iFargle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 08:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6
Default Re: Crossfire doesn't seem to be running properly

Bridge is connected, and I have tried a new bridge that I have as well as flipping it around and plugging it back into the cards.

If I go under Hardware, it shows the primary and linked adapter, not sure if it was showing that before.

I downloaded CPU-Z to see if the temps were showing up, but it shows no data on either card except the memory. Attached screenshot to the post. It is showing both cards, but both show the same thing.

I will try to flip the bridge back the other way and run CPU-Z again and see if they show up.

Edit: Tried after flipping the bridge back ,and still showing the same thing.
Attached Images
File Type: png cpuz.png (44.7 KB, 1 views)
Kevin86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 12:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Crossfire doesn't seem to be running properly

Hmm reboot into your bios and look at the vga settings.
See if you can make your first card the primary one and the second on as secondary display.
You may have to allow it to share some video memory and what not.
Last time I slied or crossfired was when I had my GT430's.
Wasn't that hard to get working once I fiddled around the vga settings in bios.
I will say this make sure the cards are set pci-e, not pci option.

Its been awhile since I played with dual cards, so excuse me if my information maybe abit off.
:/
__________________

-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.