Critical status on RAID 1 array - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-28-2011, 11:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7
Default Critical status on RAID 1 array

First post here, but thanks in advance for any help you may be able to provide.

I put together a new system for a gentlemen, specs are as follows:

Asus M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3
Kingston 8GB DDR3-1600 Hyper-X
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition
2x 1TB Western Digital SATA (Black) - RAID 1
2x Asus EAH5770
Asus DVD-RW
Cooler Master 850W Silent Pro

Everything has been fine for a few weeks until yesterday, my customer stated that when he started his computer up he got RAID critical status alert during POST. Other than the message, the OS loads fine. I've attempted to reseat all the connections, I've also swapped SATA cables, and I tested both drives with WD Data Lifeguard Diagnostics which came back clean.

Has anyone heard of or can provide any steps that can be taken to correct the issue? Is it possible that a drive is bad this soon and sneak by testing?

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated because I'm kind of at a loss of what could be causing it.


Jason
__________________

jasonscc is offline  
Old 05-28-2011, 12:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Critical status on RAID 1 array

Is this onboard RAID or from a controller card?
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-28-2011, 12:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7
Default Re: Critical status on RAID 1 array

Yes, it is onboard.
jasonscc is offline  
Old 05-28-2011, 12:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Critical status on RAID 1 array

Might be something with the BIOS. might want recreate the RAID or something. I've never come up with this error either, unless the drive was degrading.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-28-2011, 01:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7
Default Re: Critical status on RAID 1 array

Question regarding that. If I recreate the RAID will I lose the his data?
jasonscc is offline  
Old 05-28-2011, 01:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Critical status on RAID 1 array

I'm not too sure on that. I think that is true. Not sure though. Could be just the BIOS giving false information for all we know.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-28-2011, 02:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7
Default Re: Critical status on RAID 1 array

Thanks for the input. I've installed the RaidXpert software and am currently rebuilding the array to see if it corrects the issue. I'll keep you posted.
jasonscc is offline  
Old 05-28-2011, 02:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Critical status on RAID 1 array

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wikipedia
In RAID 1 (mirroring without parity or striping), data is written identically to multiple disks (a "mirrored set"). Although many implementations create sets of 2 disks, sets may contain 3 or more disks. Array provides fault tolerance from disk errors or failures and continues to operate as long as at least one drive in the mirrored set is functioning. With appropriate operating system support, there can be increased read performance, and only a minimal write performance reduction.
One of the drives is creating errors or it's just having problems. The OS is working because the array can work with either drive or just one drive.

Remove the power connector from one of the drives and then test the remaining drive. If it passes then remove it's power connector, plug the other drive back in and test it.

The Raid Controller has it's own bios, when you enter the Raid bios it should tell you the status of each individual drive.

I would go ahead and buy another identical drive so that it's on hand as a spare.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 05-28-2011, 03:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

I would look for firmware and driver updates first. Keep in mind mirrored sets can be "broken" and recreated.
office politics is offline  
Old 05-31-2011, 09:05 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7
Default Re: Critical status on RAID 1 array

Thank's for the help all. After rebuilding the array with RaidXpert the status is now functional and everything seems to be OK for the moment. It's certainly strange how it came to be critical but I'll just have to wait and see if it does it again or not. Again thanks for the help all!
__________________

jasonscc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raid 1 Critical Status After Video Card Install canurollwiththis Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 02-14-2011 09:38 AM
RAID Array Latty05 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 09-14-2006 10:43 AM
Raid 5 Array Rebuild groovelite Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 03-22-2006 12:47 AM
RAID array help MrT* Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 03-31-2005 10:29 AM
Raid Array atd332 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 12-07-2004 08:25 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.