CRC and MD5 errors - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-08-2006, 11:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to agentfazexx Send a message via Yahoo to agentfazexx
Default CRC and MD5 errors

When I install stuff on my system, (i.e. oblivion, battlefield 2, hitman 2 etc.) I get crc and md5 errors. it usually affects how the game runs, or the game wont install at all. if it does work, itll crash or freeze up for seemingly no reason at all. I just replaced the motherboard, cpu, and gfx card. the hdd is no more than a month and a half old, my dvd burner is maybe 2 yrs old at most, and all my ide cables and such are brand new. I'm not sure what is causing this since all my discs are fine and seemed to start having issues at the same time.

Any ideas???
__________________

agentfazexx is offline  
Old 04-09-2006, 06:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

I'm confuse, what exactly are you testing wih md5?

Are you saying that your game disks are failing CRC checks?

Do you have any other system issues? BSODs etc?

Sounds like a faulty DVD drive atm
__________________

__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 04-09-2006, 01:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to agentfazexx Send a message via Yahoo to agentfazexx
Default

its just when I install stuff it has errors. I'm guessing its either the HDD or optical drive. couldn't be the RAM. and the motherboard and everything else is brand new, only things I didnt JUST replace are the hdd, ram and cd drive.
agentfazexx is offline  
Old 04-09-2006, 01:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to agentfazexx Send a message via Yahoo to agentfazexx
Default

and also..

hdd is less than 2 months old and hasnt been hit hard or dropped or anything
ram is like 3 or so months old, and I dont really get ram issues ever
my dvdrom thats giving me issues is 1-2 years old (a memorex dual layer dvd burner)
agentfazexx is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 01:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to agentfazexx Send a message via Yahoo to agentfazexx
Default

Since no one replied to this at all really I took it upon myself to replace the hdd and so fourth. Still getting the same b/s CRC crap. So I'm assuming its the optical drive since the only other non-new things in here is the sound card and RAM
agentfazexx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.