CRC Errors - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-21-2006, 03:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to agentfazexx Send a message via Yahoo to agentfazexx
Default CRC Errors

I keep getting CRC errors on everything. Even brand new discs like "Oblivion" give me this error. What is it for and how do I get rid of it? My dvd drive is at most 2 yrs old. Its a dual format memorex 16x burner.
__________________

agentfazexx is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 04:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

Do you have another drive to swap out to see if thats the problem? And have you pulled it out of device manager and reinstalled it?
__________________

jseber1982 is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 10:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to agentfazexx Send a message via Yahoo to agentfazexx
Default

Tried that, swapping cdroms, switched IDE slots on the mobo... nothing works. Could it be the IDE controller?
agentfazexx is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 12:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

Is it just with burnt disks?
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 01:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to agentfazexx Send a message via Yahoo to agentfazexx
Default

Yeah select ones, same with dvd's/cd's... certain ones. Brand spankin' new or not. I just got oblivion yesterday... has errors (but works fine thank god, only thing that runs after having those errors)
agentfazexx is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 01:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to agentfazexx Send a message via Yahoo to agentfazexx
Default

otherwise... i dunno what it is
agentfazexx is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 07:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

It could be the IDE controller if this was after swapping the cd drive. Almost all CRC errors are the result of the drive itself. However, burned cd's will tend to do this if it was poorly done, or incomplete downloads. Memory and cache can cause this as well, but that would be doubtful. It maybe that you have corrupted system files. Check eventvwr and see what it says. Also, you could (if you want to ensure its not cache) disable cache in the bios, but itll run slow as ****, and try swapping around memory (if you have 2 sticks, run with just one and then the other). May want to reinstall the MBD chipset drivers, as well.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 09:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to agentfazexx Send a message via Yahoo to agentfazexx
Default

haha funny thing is... I've tried re-installing windows multiple times (luckly I found one XP cd that reads with no problems) but I don't know what else it could be honestly....
agentfazexx is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 04:13 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

its either the drive itself or the burned discs you are using
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 12:44 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to agentfazexx Send a message via Yahoo to agentfazexx
Default

Both aren't possible because I was using some BRAND new discs... I tried a cd drive cleaner, 2 other drives and still got the same issues. I'm narrowing it down to the IDE controller. We'll see when i get my new cpu/mobo in.
__________________

agentfazexx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.