Crash, possibly due to Halo 2 Vista (not sure) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-16-2010, 01:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
Default Crash, possibly due to Halo 2 Vista (not sure)

Note: I would have put this under "PC Gaming" but I figured it is too technical a question for that forum.

I am a huge Halo fan and I finally got my hands on a copy of Halo 2 for Windows Vista, although my computer runs Windows 7 on it. The game runs mostly just fine, except I remember the first time running it it would freeze up for about 20 seconds, the screen would go black for about 10 seconds, then finally the game would resume.

But one time when I was playing, the screen got this strange, interlaced pattern (alternating "strips" where the image was skewed horizontally) for about 1 or 2 seconds before displaying the blue screen of death. For the whole time, the audio skipped/repeated as if buffering, and I could hear it still even after the blue screen.

It is, however, important to note that this interlaced pattern followed by blue screen problem occurred once before, when I was booting up my computer and it had just entered the welcome screen. Restarting fixed the problem, as did the Halo 2 incident, but I'm afraid to play Halo 2 again for fear of it screwing up my computer. I did read that problems have been reported regarding running Halo 2 Vista on Windows 7, but most seemed to be simple "it won't let me install" problems. In my case, it seems to run fine save for those three incidents, although I am afraid to run it again.

I am using an ATI Radeon HD graphics card, a Sound Blaster Audigy sound card and an AMD Phenom II processor, and as I said before I am running Windows 7, 64-bit. Please help, I only just got this computer custom built for me a week ago, and it cost me over $1700 to build it. Last thing I want is to deal with hardware problems!
__________________

DashProject is offline  
Old 11-17-2010, 09:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Crash, possibly due to Halo 2 Vista (not sure)

Ok, take a breather for a minute, first thing is first what exactly are your specs ?
We know you have a phenom II a ATI HD graphics card and sound blaster audigy card...
Now we what need is the model type version number ?

Go to start, navigate to my computer, right click, hit properties and go to device mananger.
By each device such as such graghics card, processor and sound hit the tab on the left marker and it will show and post back.

Or, take a screen shot by pressing the printscreen button on your keyboard with the window open, crop it, save to imageshack and post it back up here.

Simple...
__________________

-RockMan- is offline  
Old 11-17-2010, 10:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Crash, possibly due to Halo 2 Vista (not sure)

Actually, you can screenshot it with alt + printscreen. It will only take a screenshot of the window you are in.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 11-17-2010, 02:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Crash, possibly due to Halo 2 Vista (not sure)

I would doubt that it is solely tied to Halo 2 being installed. As i have that same game and played through it 3 times using Win7 at various stages of development. I would look more toward ATi having driver issues as they have been notorious for with Win7 over the fact Halo 2 is installed.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-17-2010, 02:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Crash, possibly due to Halo 2 Vista (not sure)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213 View Post
I would doubt that it is solely tied to Halo 2 being installed. As i have that same game and played through it 3 times using Win7 at various stages of development. I would look more toward ATi having driver issues as they have been notorious for with Win7 over the fact Halo 2 is installed.
What he said. Yep. It's most likely a driver issue or heat causing your video card to artifact like that.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 11-17-2010, 03:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
Default Re: Crash, possibly due to Halo 2 Vista (not sure)

Graphics: ATI Radeon HD 5770 1GB PCI Express 16x dual head, HDMI
Sound: Sound Blaster Audigy SE 7.1
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4GHz (Quad Core) 45nm, AM3 6MB Cache
Windows: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit

(Taken directly from my computer's spec sheet)

I'm pretty sure it's not a heat issue, and I know it's not Halo's fault (it happened again last night when playing a different game,) so I wonder what it is. Thanks for all the input by the way, I'm determined to solve this issue.

Any more thoughts? So if it's a driver issue I wonder how I can solve it. I am a little worried that the hardware itself is screwed up though, but I doubt that's the case. Could it be that the hardware itself is not compatible with my system?
DashProject is offline  
Old 11-17-2010, 04:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Crash, possibly due to Halo 2 Vista (not sure)

Get the latest drivers, man...
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 11-17-2010, 04:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
Default Re: Crash, possibly due to Halo 2 Vista (not sure)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
Get the latest drivers, man...
Just got the drivers for it a little over a week ago...pretty sure those are the latest
DashProject is offline  
Old 11-17-2010, 04:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Crash, possibly due to Halo 2 Vista (not sure)

Make sure the drivers are not from Microosft directly or that could be the source of the problem right there.
ATI Radeon
-RockMan- is offline  
Old 11-18-2010, 11:33 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
Default Re: Crash, possibly due to Halo 2 Vista (not sure)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeFury-7 View Post
Make sure the drivers are not from Microosft directly or that could be the source of the problem right there.
ATI Radeon
I'm pretty sure I'm using ATI's drivers.

Also, it crashed a fourth time this morning, again whilst playing Halo 2 (couldn't even start a game this time.) I was, however, able to discern what the error message in the BSOD was this time...I think it was something like DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL. That problem has been known to be caused by viruses and/or spyware, but I am pretty confident my 2 week-old computer has not gotten any viruses yet, especially since I have both AVG 2011 and MalwareBytes installed on it. So what is the problem, I wonder?

And it's okay if you guys don't know, I'm getting my fried over here ASAP...he's a computer genius, but I wanted to solve the issue myself since I don't know when he can come over. I need this machine in order to run Blender for my 3D modeling class, but what with all these random crashes and blue screens I'm deathly afraid of data loss, and to make matters even crappier my final project is due soon and I don't want my fear of data loss or my computer's frequent crashes to get in the way.
__________________

DashProject is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Halo 1 Vista issues?!? suicide007 PC Gaming 4 12-09-2008 11:10 PM
Halo 2 For Vista Amd2800 PC Gaming 5 07-15-2007 09:05 AM
halo 2 vista?? mikee PC Gaming 18 06-07-2007 05:01 PM
Halo 2 Vista Discussion veg1992 PC Gaming 14 05-01-2007 05:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.