Crash after RAM upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-13-2008, 09:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 170
Send a message via ICQ to Total Immortal
Default Crash after RAM upgrade

I'm on a PowerBook G4 1.5Ghz. I just maxed out my RAM to 2Gigs (2 X 1 sticks of Crucial PC2700 (not cheap stuff). Was running great for about 10 minutes, and then BAM (see attached picture).

Let me back up a sec. Sometime ago (no idea how long ago), my computer stopped recognizing the 2nd of two 256 meg chips of RAM that came from Apple when I bought it (I didn't realize this until a week or so ago). So I have been functioning on only 256 megs of ram. When I installed the new ram, both chips were detected and running fine.. until the crash. When the computer crashed I was listening to iTunes and ironically started a thread here on tech-forums (I took a picture, but tech-forums uploader doesn't think I'm trying to upload an image file, for some reason..). ANYWAYS, now only one chip is being recognized (according to the System Profiler, only the "upper" ram slot has anything installed in it).

Well, it's been nearly 30 minutes, and its running ok. I'm considering swapping the memory chips to see if it is the cheap, or the location. But what can I do if the bay is bad?
__________________

Total Immortal is offline  
Old 08-13-2008, 09:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Crash after RAM upgrade

Hello,

I would have to say it is the location. Unless there is something wrong with the install of OS X. But most of the time it is either the RAM is not seated correctly or there is a problem with the mobo slot for that RAM.

Cheers,
Mak
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-13-2008, 10:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 170
Send a message via ICQ to Total Immortal
Default Re: Crash after RAM upgrade

40 minutes and 6 crashes later, I have removed the chip from the lower slot (my ram is stacked vertically) and it appears to be working so far.. Really wish I had that 2nd gig though I guess I'm going to call Apple and see what can be done..
Total Immortal is offline  
Old 08-13-2008, 10:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: Crash after RAM upgrade

It sounds like a duffed ram stick pal, got another comp to test it in?
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 08-14-2008, 07:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 59
Send a message via MSN to ~Tofu~
Default Re: Crash after RAM upgrade

well i'm not computer pro
but it sounds like the same problem that my brother's computer had. So according to the fixer he said that the 2Rams aren't compatible with each other. and so he just took one of the ram out and it was wala fixed...and we paid $100 for that =.=
~Tofu~ is offline  
Old 08-14-2008, 06:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 51
Default Re: Crash after RAM upgrade

In windows there is memory checker program. You can write this thing on a cd and boot from the CD and it will check memory...I'm not sure of Mac. Will search and found anything will post.

Sam
Highlandcomp is offline  
Old 08-14-2008, 08:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Crash after RAM upgrade

You are talking about MemTest86. It should work on a Mac as well as it is a bootable disc. It doesnt require Windows, OS X or even Linux to be installed to run.

Cheers,
Mak
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with RAM / CPU. zukster Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 08-11-2008 09:43 PM
ram/ processor upgrade? generalaxes Laptops and Notebooks 9 04-26-2008 04:34 AM
Ram upgrade worth it in this machine? stainer711 System Upgrades 5 04-25-2008 01:59 PM
RAM Question b0bby System Upgrades 9 04-21-2008 11:32 PM
Upgrade for Crysis Question vdubnthehouse New Systems | Building and Buying 17 10-28-2007 10:09 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.