crappy psu's or ???? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-24-2006, 08:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default crappy psu's or ????

Don't know if it's cheap psu's or what,Lately i have been having a problem which include's either my hard drive shutting down on me or getting reboot's galore Mostly happen's when i'm gaming,Everything will be going fine and then boom!! my hard drive power's down,At first i thought it was a power problem so i stripped just about every thing out,Worked for a little while then right back to doing the same,I switched out my psu for another i have and it worked for a while and now it's doing the same Both psu's only have a 18amp rating but i don't have much in my system now,Should be able to run what's in my sig shouldn't it? Anyone have an idea what it could be or had similar problem's? This is really really ******* me off
__________________

Shumway is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 08:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
BVR
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 74
Default

What does your event viewer say?
__________________

__________________
CompTIA A+
CompTIA Net+
MCP 2000
BVR is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 08:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

What are your CPU and system temps?
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 09:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

I can't see heating being a problem,Cpu never get's above 43*c and system is around 35*,And my GS sit's at about 53 idle and i haven't seen it break 75* yet.
Shumway is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 12:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Look's like it's been fixed

Seem's my oc setting's were causeing a conflict somehow,Just played HL2 for 45 minute's or so with all stock setting's and no crashing so far.
Shumway is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.