Cpu-z question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2009, 08:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 15
Question Cpu-z question

When i go to the SPD tab, it lists my ram as being pc2-6400 (400mhz).
I have OCZ Platinum 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) installed.

Already double checked bios, settings are 1066, 5/5/5/18, 2T, 2.2v.
Is the program just reporting wrong, ram bad, or do i need to change something?

Darshek is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 09:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Resident Nightowl
Fat.Clown's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 3,315
Default Re: Cpu-z question

go to memory tab

that shows what the RAM is currently running at

SPD tab shows information about the RAM only

Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 02-23-2009, 02:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 15
Question Re: Cpu-z question

What value on the memory tab would tell me its running correct?

Its reading as ddr2 4g dual channel unganged.

Nb Freq: 1803.8mhz

Dram freq: 534.5

Fsb:dram: 3:8

CL: 5
tRCD: 5
tRP: 5
tRAS: 18

tRC: 33 clocks
CR: 2t

This is a new build.
Im trying to figure out what component is making the system hang sometimes.
I defraged last night and tried to close the program after it was done, it wouldnt respond. Had to use the reset button on case.

Watched some movies and it worked fine. Went to watch another and it started glitching.Then system hung again. Had to use the reset again. Then windows hung on loading. So i hit reset, upon loading it went to the window that lets you chose: last known good config. Chose that and it loaded fine.

This was my first post here. Error code 7...new rig
Figured out it was the new sata dvd rom. Hooked up my old ide rom and install went fine.

Darshek is offline  
Old 02-23-2009, 03:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
Shumway's Avatar
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default Re: Cpu-z question

The dram freq is what you want to look at.

Just take that number and multiply it by 2 since its ddr2 ram ( 2 x 534.5 = 1069)
Shumway is offline  
Old 02-23-2009, 04:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 15

ah,ok. Dl'ed the diagnostic software for the HD. Gonna run that next.

Hard drives the problem, 140 bad sectors.
Darshek is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU question regalwhiskey System Upgrades 0 02-02-2009 01:19 PM
Question about upgrading my CPU? spinard New Systems | Building and Buying 5 10-21-2008 07:15 PM
CPU and Heatsink Lapping Question grkbar Overclocking and Modding 14 10-05-2008 11:43 AM
Cpu And Ram questions(and Advise for new my comp) DragenFear System Upgrades 20 01-06-2008 06:19 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.