CPU/Video refuses to boot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-23-2009, 03:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Default CPU/Video refuses to boot

Hi,
I'm "attempting" to fix a Gateway GT4010 for a relative, and need some help w/ this one.
The Specs can be viewed at Direct link to it on Gateways Website
Doesn't list this or seem clear but it has..
1 250 GB Hard drive

It is stock, Nothing has ever been changed unless i said so here

The problem occurring is, it will turn on the fans and I will hear the HD clicking to boot but the power LED does not come on and no video.

Now at first I thought well maybe the PSU died. So I threw a ThermalTake 650W PSU inside. Booted up as soon as i flipped the switch on the PSU. Booted up into Vista just fine. Then i decided What the heck lets try a reboot make sure its fixed. No dice. Same problem happened again.

I then turned it off by flipping the PSU switch, then turned it back on No go, But I realize that It's booting up without me even touching the Power button, and it always waited for me every other time i fixed it. So I decide well maybe it isnt giving the PSU a chance to boot, So i hold on the power button on the case and it shuts off fine. Wait 5 minutes hit the button again and Woot right back into Vista. Tried a reboot again.. The problem occurs again.

Then I decided ill unplug everything besides CPU and motherboard, No go. I realize its very dusty and I then take the motherboard out while I'm cleaning all the dust out and try it without the case, still a no go. Huh. Well maybe a wire in the connections broke and has something to do with it, So I tried it without it, Nope. Since then I have not been able to get it to boot.

Now the motherboard does have a speaker on it, yet I haven't heard a beep yet..

I should also add i tried leaving it on for about 10 minutes, but the heatsink on the CPU only seemed Lukewarm but, it was a very small difference if any.

I'm thinking CPU but seeing as i don't have one that fits that socket I'm kind of weary about going out and spending money on this (especially if I'm not sure if I'll be reimbursed )

Just seems strange it booted up a few times without a problem and how it turns on by itself now.

Anyone got an idea? or what i should try next?

Thanks in advanced <3
__________________

Doorby is offline  
Old 07-23-2009, 03:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
rustle rustle
 
35g700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,580
Default Re: CPU/Video refuses to boot

Have you checked the mainboard for bad caps?

You know you have bad caps when they look like this (edges pushed out)
http://helicon.macbay.de/iMac_problems/IMG_3298.JPG

Or the caps are leaking.
__________________

__________________
Core i7 8700K @ 4.8GHz - Asus Z370-E - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 16GB DDR4 3000MHz - 500GB Samsung 960 EVO - Windows 10 Pro x64
Mid 2014 Retina MacBook Pro 13.3" - 2.6GHz core i5 - 16GB DDR3 1600MHz - 128GB - macOS High Sierra
Sony PS3 & PS4 500GB || iPhone 6s 64GB iOS 11 || Sony a6000
35g700 is offline  
Old 07-23-2009, 05:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: CPU/Video refuses to boot

I just worked on an old Gateway that was doing the same thing. It had 2 sticks of memory in it and 1 stick was bad. It didn't beep, load or do anything until I removed the bad stick of memory.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 07-24-2009, 12:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: CPU/Video refuses to boot

First off, thanks guys

35g700, I just checked the caps none that i can see w/ a magnifying glass, cant feel any that are pushed up either.

Slaymate, I've taken out both sticks of ram and tried booting it with only the mobo and processor and still fans turn on but doesnt boot.
Doorby is offline  
Old 07-24-2009, 05:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: CPU/Video refuses to boot

You'll need at least of stick of ram installed or it will not boot. Try one stick, if it doesn't work take it out and try the other stick. Did it beep with no ram installed?

I really doubt it's the cpu. I would try a new mobo 1st.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 07-24-2009, 08:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: CPU/Video refuses to boot

you said the hdd is clicking, this is not like a hdd dying clicking noise is it?

and have you tried to reset the cmos?
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 07-25-2009, 12:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: CPU/Video refuses to boot

It doesn't beep with no ram in it, still cant even get the power light on with it but all the fans turn on

Tried both ram sticks swapped them down every slot, still nothing

And the HD Clicking, It sounds like its booting up like normal, bad choice of words :laughing:

I've been resetting the CMOS just about everytime i reboot it.

Also, It doesn't seem to beep when there is no CMOS battery, like every other system i've had

Could it be the mobo? It seems like its still doing things, like turning on the fans. Not sure if the HD would have to be booted by the mobo or if it just turns on and boots itself as soon as it gets power

Thanks again guys
Doorby is offline  
Old 07-25-2009, 02:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: CPU/Video refuses to boot

Just because a few fans spin, it doesn't mean the power supply is good. But you said you tried a different power supply already, so I'm eliminating it as a possibility. The cpu is the least likely component to go bad, so I'm eliminating it til we have no other choice.

The mobo should beep with no memory installed. We've swapped and rotated the memory around with no success. And you've tried unhooking all the other components with no success. It's either the mobo or the cpu. I'm recommending a new mobo.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 07-25-2009, 04:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
rustle rustle
 
35g700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,580
Default Re: CPU/Video refuses to boot

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
The mobo should beep with no memory installed.
Wait, I thought the four things you needed for a post beep was a mobo, a CPU, RAM, and a speaker so that would mean that you do need memory to get a POST beep.
__________________
Core i7 8700K @ 4.8GHz - Asus Z370-E - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 16GB DDR4 3000MHz - 500GB Samsung 960 EVO - Windows 10 Pro x64
Mid 2014 Retina MacBook Pro 13.3" - 2.6GHz core i5 - 16GB DDR3 1600MHz - 128GB - macOS High Sierra
Sony PS3 & PS4 500GB || iPhone 6s 64GB iOS 11 || Sony a6000
35g700 is offline  
Old 07-25-2009, 05:01 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: CPU/Video refuses to boot

Quote:
Originally Posted by 35g700 View Post
Wait, I thought the four things you needed for a post beep was a mobo, a CPU, RAM, and a speaker so that would mean that you do need memory to get a POST beep.
Your assuming a single beep. With no memory we should hear multiple beeps. I'm just looking for some kind of an indicator. I still say it needs a mobo
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista won't boot without CD tigerfootball05 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 05-09-2009 08:42 PM
10 Ways To Make Linux Boot Faster Osiris Linux Tips and Tricks 0 08-04-2008 09:36 AM
Dell refuses to boot from CD Cunjo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 07-15-2008 02:42 PM
P5K Premium "Proper Boot Device/Insert Boot Media" s-patrol Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-02-2007 12:37 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.