CPU Usage Whack! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-27-2005, 10:38 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 20
Default

Flanker, I got plenty of RAM available.

apokalipse, is there some way I can locate this 16-bit process? Anyway I can check your hypothesis?

David
__________________

davidemm is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 10:46 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

go to the motherboard's CD, and find the the setup file. if, when you open it, wowexec.exe comes up, you know that's a 16-bit program
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 10:53 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 20
Default

I figured out how to recreate the problem!!!!

When ever I go to standby, and then come back, I get this behavior. No wowexec.exe running though.

Does that help?

David
davidemm is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 11:01 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

what programs do take up your CPU time when you come out of standby?
it also might not be the CPU time they're taking, but hard drive time.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 11:04 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 20
Default

Hey,

Nah, it says right on it: "CPU ussage". And when I come out of standby, like I said, nothing is eating CPU except task manager. Although, at the footer, it says 30-50% cpu usage.

Grrr...

David
davidemm is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 11:26 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

and you've got "show processes from all users" and "show 16 bit tasks" on?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 11:32 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 20
Default

Yes, I do.

The plot thickens, I fif about three standby attempts (followed by reboots) and I got the " wowexec.exe" on the third try and all of the standbys have shown this annoying habbit of chewing cpu. The odd thing is that this " wowexec.exe" displays using no RAM.

David
davidemm is offline  
Old 08-28-2005, 05:14 AM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

do you have any anti-virus software that runs in the background, sometimes they do scans while you do stuff. although i dont see why that wouldnt show under processes anyway.
joshd is offline  
Old 08-28-2005, 12:56 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 20
Default

I'm starting to narrow in on the cause.

It has something to do with the sleep function. In the BIOS when I set my sleep setting to "ACPI S3 (Suspend to RAM)" it does just that, suspends the system to RAM and then when I turn it on, I get everything back and I don't get this funky problem.

When I use this other setting... S1 I think, thats when it does the normal sleep mode, but it come back on with this weird CPU chew issues. Is there anyway in Windows I can better configure these options?

Thanks.

David
davidemm is offline  
Old 08-29-2005, 07:35 AM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

a lot of people have had problems with suspending their computer. If S3 works, keep it at that.
I'm no Microsoft programmer, so I wouldn't be able to tell you why S1 does that.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.