cpu usage problem. please help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-10-2006, 05:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Default cpu usage problem. please help!

so here's the deal... i use my laptop mainly to play videos (.avi). I've done so for the past 2 years with no problem but lately almost everytime i play a video, it starts skipping and then stops at some point.
freemem pro shows that cpu usage is up to 99%.
when I check task manager there's always a process that takes all the cpu usage, sometimes explorer, sometimes ccap.exe (norton)... it's always a different one.
As soon as i close mediaplayer everything is back to normal but cpu usage goes back to 99% again if i try to play the video again... i need to shut down and restart my computer to be able to play the video again abnd see the end!
norton says there is no virus in my laptop.
i use reg supreme to clean up the registry for better peformance.
i use ad aware to clean up all the little crap.
i use freemem pro to always free up memory.
i defrag regularly.
i haven't changed anything on my pc for a while, no new software or applications installed for a few months, and the problem started a couple weeks ago for no apparent reason...
I have some computer knowledge and tried a bunch of things but nothing works...
So please help me if you have any idea or suggestion short of formatting my hard drive and reinstalling everything!!
my laptop is a pentium 4 3gz with 512 MB of ram and an ati radeon 9700 video card.
Thanks

Vithiet
__________________

vithiet is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 08:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 88
Default

maybe a virus. Have you scan the PC
__________________

PR Gamer is offline  
Old 08-11-2006, 03:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Default

yes, i updated liveupdate from norton and did a deep scan... nothing (or so norton says...)
vithiet is offline  
Old 08-11-2006, 11:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to dipique
Default

Get rid of Norton; it sucks. Get AVG Antivirus. It's free and better.

Dan
dipique is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.