CPU upgrade problem - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-26-2007, 02:10 PM   #11 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: CPU upgrade problem

hmm
i guess it could be a bad cpu.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 02:18 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: CPU upgrade problem

psu up to par?
__________________

atomic tofu is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 02:24 PM   #13 (permalink)
I know things...
 
wicked23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 398
Default Re: CPU upgrade problem

When you change a mobo I know you usually need to reinstall windows. If you have windows running a single core architecture then wouldn't you do the same when you upgrade to dual core? Or atleast a repair?
wicked23 is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 02:29 PM   #14 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: CPU upgrade problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by atomic tofu View Post
psu up to par?
its a 600W ATX PSU, its been reliable so i doubt its lacking

Quote:
Originally Posted by wicked23 View Post
When you change a mobo I know you usually need to reinstall windows. If you have windows running a single core architecture then wouldn't you do the same when you upgrade to dual core? Or atleast a repair?
ill check that out on google.

thanks for all the replys so far
Nick is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 03:03 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: CPU upgrade problem

you normally don't need to reinstall windows on a mobo swap, I believe that's a call in to MS for reactivation. MS gives you a license to use Windows on a physical processor, number of cores regardless. So 1 core chip is the same as 16 core (theoretical) chip.
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 03:14 PM   #16 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: CPU upgrade problem

i searched on google and its only vista that needs reactivating im replacing the cpu tomorow or the day after so im hoping it is just the cpu being faulty :S
Nick is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 04:51 PM   #17 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: CPU upgrade problem

its recommended to format after mobo change, not sure about cpu.
But i have heard that if you wanna go from single to dual...you should re-format.
But if your not in a hurry, just to the rma.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocked 3.2ghz Pentium D processor by 15% EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 1 12-19-2007 11:52 PM
Does my MB have a lock on the CPU freq.??? rickytan Overclocking and Modding 2 12-12-2007 01:16 AM
Serious computer problem. HeeRoMaKi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 71 07-28-2007 11:42 PM
Upgrade Advice for my system Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-25-2007 02:28 PM
Media Library (I Presume) Problem. Nadegas Microsoft Windows and Software 4 06-08-2007 08:27 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.