CPU Underclocks itself - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2006, 11:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 422
Default CPU Underclocks itself

My laptop's CPU, AMD 64 3400+ reports itself as "798MHZ".

When I boot, it says only 800MHz. I would rather have my laptop run full speed all the time, because it's usually always plugged in (rarely use battery).

I uninstalled the AMD Driver, not sure exactly what it was for but I was thinking maybe so the processor can underclock itself to save power.

Thanks
__________________

__________________

Current PC
Windows 7 Pro x64
AMD 965 Black Edition 3.4GHz
ASUS Crossfire III
Corsair 650 Watt
12GB RAM
Sapphire ATI 5770
500GB Samsung*2 | 150GB VelicoRaptor 10K HDD
1TB Samsung
Jobs
Electrician
C# Programmer+Web Programmer
Gamer :)
mack is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 06:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

the AMD driver would be for underclocking the cpu for power saving. i think your only options are to look at power options in control panel and BIOS to see what sort of stuff they have there if you are sure the AMD driver has been completely removed
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 10:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 422
Default

Well, get this. I uninstalled the driver. I was playing Natural Selection, and what do you know? I was getting 30fps!!! NS is a HALF LIFE 1 mod.

So I reinstalled the driver, and voila, I get 75fps again.

Any other ways to make it stay at the right speed? I've never seen it go above 800MHz. My bios is some cheap bios with only few options and there's no option to overclock at all.

I notice APPs load slower then what my desktop did (my old PC, AMD 64 2800+). And I have a 3400+ now. Obviously, something is wrong here =P! This is apps like Visual Studio 2005, Microsoft SQL Server Manager, etc.

Thanks
__________________

Current PC
Windows 7 Pro x64
AMD 965 Black Edition 3.4GHz
ASUS Crossfire III
Corsair 650 Watt
12GB RAM
Sapphire ATI 5770
500GB Samsung*2 | 150GB VelicoRaptor 10K HDD
1TB Samsung
Jobs
Electrician
C# Programmer+Web Programmer
Gamer :)
mack is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.