CPU throttling? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-24-2015, 10:01 AM   #11 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: CPU throttling?

Did you put your own paste or did it have a pad?

With the BIOS, with the i7 in, you should do a BIOS rest just to ensure it picks up the right settings.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 03-24-2015, 10:15 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 402
Default Re: CPU throttling?

I used paste that came with the new cooler with both it and the CPU being new they where clean.
I will try the BIOS reset first and run the tests again then move on to reinstalling the cooler plus some Arctic Silver 5 Thermal Compund Paste
__________________

__________________
PC Specs:


Corsair TX550M ENTHUSIAST 550W
Intel B85, S 1150, DDR3, SATA III, PCIe 3.0 (x16), MATX MoBo
Intel Core i7 4790K, S1150, Haswell, 4 Core 4.4GHz Turbo
16GB (4x4GB) Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600)
4GB MSI GTX970 GAMING PCI-E
960G SanDisk UltraII SSD + 2TB SEAGATE Hard Drive
Windows 10

**Spud**
Spud5437 is offline  
Old 03-24-2015, 10:29 AM   #13 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,309
Default Re: CPU throttling?

But how much did you apply? You need to put a small grain of rice sized dot in the center of the CPU.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 03-24-2015, 10:46 AM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 402
Default Re: CPU throttling?

I used what I would consider to be the correct amount - I understand your preference of a single dot but I used the x method having found the most success with it in the past. I have applied paste maybe 10+ times in the past
__________________
PC Specs:


Corsair TX550M ENTHUSIAST 550W
Intel B85, S 1150, DDR3, SATA III, PCIe 3.0 (x16), MATX MoBo
Intel Core i7 4790K, S1150, Haswell, 4 Core 4.4GHz Turbo
16GB (4x4GB) Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600)
4GB MSI GTX970 GAMING PCI-E
960G SanDisk UltraII SSD + 2TB SEAGATE Hard Drive
Windows 10

**Spud**
Spud5437 is offline  
Old 03-24-2015, 10:48 AM   #15 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: CPU throttling?

X method is a bit of a waste since the cores are all in the center, and putting a small rice-sized dot in the middle will allow it to be evenly spread across by the weight of the heatsink.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 03-24-2015, 11:31 AM   #16 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,309
Default Re: CPU throttling?

X method uses way too much paste. Might as well be putting a blanket on your CPU.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 03-24-2015, 04:04 PM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: CPU throttling?

yup....just a lil dab do ya!

Joe C is offline  
Old 03-24-2015, 09:49 PM   #18 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: CPU throttling?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe C View Post
yup....just a lil dab do ya!

I'm not going to lie about this but that looks like abit to be too much.
Also when I apply grease, I put pee size in the middle,
Next I put 4 little dots on the corner of the cpu.
So yeah spud do it this way and that'll prevent it from heating up.

. .
.
. .

Spud if you don't mind me asking what type of thermal paste do you and what cooler ?

If you pair this up with a decent or good cooler it'll keep your intel cpu cooled off for 6 months or 12 months.
ARCTIC MX-2 (4g) Carbon-Based Thermal Compound, Non-Electricity Conductive, Non-Capacitive - Newegg.com
If you oc it'll dissipate faster and you'll be changing it every 4 months.
-RockMan- is offline  
Old 03-24-2015, 09:56 PM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: CPU throttling?

That big turd was ment to be sarcasm.......
I've had my i7 920 o/c'd for 5 yrs and still have not had to change the tim
Joe C is offline  
Old 03-24-2015, 10:05 PM   #20 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: CPU throttling?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe C View Post
yup....just a lil dab do ya!

Reminded me of a cupcake .

Quote:
Originally Posted by -RockMan- View Post
I'm not going to lie about this but that looks like abit to be too much.
Also when I apply grease, I put pee size in the middle,
Next I put 4 little dots on the corner of the cpu.
The 4 dots in the corner are a waste IMO (and others will tell you this as well). A pea/rice sized spot in the middle (because that's where the cores are). Then when the heatsink is pressed firmly down and secured, the weight of the heatsink and pressure from the security clips will spread the compound out evenly across the surface of the CPU's heatspreader. The dots on the corner just have more of a chance of oozing out of the side I'd think.

Quote:
If you pair this up with a decent or good cooler it'll keep your intel cpu cooled off for 6 months or 12 months.
[snip]
If you oc it'll dissipate faster and you'll be changing it every 4 months.
Shouldn't be necessary to change the thermal compound that often. Unless you didn't apply it correctly, the compound should stay good for years. Shouldn't have to re-apply unless you start noticing heat issues.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Test if your ISP is throttling Bittorrent Traffic Osiris Internet Software and Browsers 1 05-08-2008 12:10 PM
Throttling Behind Server Sprooty Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 08-07-2006 05:48 PM
Bandwidth Throttling, mp3 and other Audio formats Snump Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 11-15-2005 12:56 PM
Finals throttling you and your time? FoxyLoxy Off Topic Discussion 2 04-25-2005 06:31 PM
CPU Throttling m3trj Overclocking and Modding 6 03-25-2005 05:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.