CPU throttling? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-24-2015, 07:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 402
Default CPU throttling?

Hi all, Iím after some advice on a problem I have been having.

A few weeks ago I changed my CPU from a Core i5 4430 to a core i7 4790K and went from 8GB to 16GB ram. Everything was fine with the change Ė after I updated the BIOS to recognise the new processor. I didn't notice any problems for the first week with all programs running fine.
I went back to play some far cry 4 when I had 30min to kill the other night and the FPS where dropping from a steady 60 to around 20 or lower for roughly 2 seconds every 30 seconds. I thought it strange as I didn't have this issue before. I was planning a reinstall of windows anyway so I went ahead with that and reinstalled everything including the game with the same issue still being present.
I have checked temps with all being ok but as I had a new cooler available I put it in (Arctic Cooling Freezer 11i CPU Cooler) and it has lower the already fine temps a little so I'm sure this isn't the issue.
I have done searching around on-line and some people who have had similar problems are blaming it on CPU throttling due to temps, power issues from power supply or motherboard not working well with or powering the CPU effectively.
What Iím after here is some advice on my issue and if someone with more knowledge than myself can identify the likely cause so I can remedy or upgrade as needed.

My specs are below, thanks for any help
__________________

__________________
PC Specs:


Corsair TX550M ENTHUSIAST 550W
Intel B85, S 1150, DDR3, SATA III, PCIe 3.0 (x16), MATX MoBo
Intel Core i7 4790K, S1150, Haswell, 4 Core 4.4GHz Turbo
16GB (4x4GB) Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600)
4GB MSI GTX970 GAMING PCI-E
960G SanDisk UltraII SSD + 2TB SEAGATE Hard Drive
Windows 10

**Spud**
Spud5437 is offline  
Old 03-24-2015, 07:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,306
Default Re: CPU throttling?

What exactly are your temps? Helps to specify these and what programs you're using to verify load and load temps on both GPU and CPU.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 03-24-2015, 07:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 402
Default Re: CPU throttling?

Thanks for fast response - I missed that out, Sorry!
I used Speedfan for checks with:
CPU Idle - 42C
CPU underload / in game - 65C ish

GPU idle - 45C
GPU underload / in game - 72C ish

The GPU can run lower if needed with increased fan speed but I thought that temp ok and was happy with the noise levels
__________________
PC Specs:


Corsair TX550M ENTHUSIAST 550W
Intel B85, S 1150, DDR3, SATA III, PCIe 3.0 (x16), MATX MoBo
Intel Core i7 4790K, S1150, Haswell, 4 Core 4.4GHz Turbo
16GB (4x4GB) Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600)
4GB MSI GTX970 GAMING PCI-E
960G SanDisk UltraII SSD + 2TB SEAGATE Hard Drive
Windows 10

**Spud**
Spud5437 is offline  
Old 03-24-2015, 08:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,306
Default Re: CPU throttling?

I'd use HWMon instead to make sure those are accurate. To see if your CPU is throttling you can use a free version of AIDA64 to stress test or use Prime95.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 03-24-2015, 08:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 402
Default Re: CPU throttling?

Ok, I'm at work now so I will check that later when I get home.
Are temps likely to be the issue with the setup being the same apart from the new CPU and it having an after marker cooler?
Thanks for the help
__________________
PC Specs:


Corsair TX550M ENTHUSIAST 550W
Intel B85, S 1150, DDR3, SATA III, PCIe 3.0 (x16), MATX MoBo
Intel Core i7 4790K, S1150, Haswell, 4 Core 4.4GHz Turbo
16GB (4x4GB) Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600)
4GB MSI GTX970 GAMING PCI-E
960G SanDisk UltraII SSD + 2TB SEAGATE Hard Drive
Windows 10

**Spud**
Spud5437 is offline  
Old 03-24-2015, 08:30 AM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,306
Default Re: CPU throttling?

More than likely it would be a stability problem over a temp problem which is why I'm having you stress test the CPU. If you indeed have an Intel branded motherboard it could be causing you issues.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 03-24-2015, 09:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 402
Default Re: CPU throttling?

Ok so i came home on my lunch here and have installed HWMonitor and a trial version of AIDA64.

It is reading the temperature as:
CPU 43C ilde
CPU 90C under (3 min) stress test (hit 97C at very start of first test and fell straight down again)

The temp increase is not a gradual thing, once I hit start it jumps to 70C then is at 88C - 90C in 5 seconds.

GPU 36C idle
GPU 68C under (3 min) stress test


The CPU temp is much higher than it had been showing in fanspeed! I'm guessing this may be the problem? how can I reduce this - given I have added a cooler. (Could I have put it on wrong?)
Thanks for the help
__________________
PC Specs:


Corsair TX550M ENTHUSIAST 550W
Intel B85, S 1150, DDR3, SATA III, PCIe 3.0 (x16), MATX MoBo
Intel Core i7 4790K, S1150, Haswell, 4 Core 4.4GHz Turbo
16GB (4x4GB) Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600)
4GB MSI GTX970 GAMING PCI-E
960G SanDisk UltraII SSD + 2TB SEAGATE Hard Drive
Windows 10

**Spud**
Spud5437 is offline  
Old 03-24-2015, 09:19 AM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,306
Default Re: CPU throttling?

Your paste application is either bad or it's mounted wrong. Also that cooler isn't what I would say is a great replacement to the stock cooler but you shouldn't be having issues like that.

Did you reset bios to default values after the flash?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 03-24-2015, 09:54 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 402
Default Re: CPU throttling?

From what i remember I didnt change the BIOS at all after the flash, what should I have done? Or should I just reset to default now?

I will take out the cooler tonight if I have time and reinstall it to see if that helps. I followed the instructions and it seemed to be making a good connection but I may have missed something.
Thanks again for the help and I will let you know how I get on
__________________
PC Specs:


Corsair TX550M ENTHUSIAST 550W
Intel B85, S 1150, DDR3, SATA III, PCIe 3.0 (x16), MATX MoBo
Intel Core i7 4790K, S1150, Haswell, 4 Core 4.4GHz Turbo
16GB (4x4GB) Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600)
4GB MSI GTX970 GAMING PCI-E
960G SanDisk UltraII SSD + 2TB SEAGATE Hard Drive
Windows 10

**Spud**
Spud5437 is offline  
Old 03-24-2015, 09:55 AM   #10 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: CPU throttling?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spud5437 View Post
From what i remember I didnt change the BIOS at all after the flash, what should I have done? Or should I just reset to default now?

I will take out the cooler tonight if I have time and reinstall it to see if that helps. I followed the instructions and it seemed to be making a good connection but I may have missed something.
Thanks again for the help and I will let you know how I get on
Did you make sure to clean off the old thermal compound and apply new compound before reseating the heatsink?
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Test if your ISP is throttling Bittorrent Traffic Osiris Internet Software and Browsers 1 05-08-2008 12:10 PM
Throttling Behind Server Sprooty Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 08-07-2006 05:48 PM
Bandwidth Throttling, mp3 and other Audio formats Snump Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 11-15-2005 12:56 PM
Finals throttling you and your time? FoxyLoxy Off Topic Discussion 2 04-25-2005 06:31 PM
CPU Throttling m3trj Overclocking and Modding 6 03-25-2005 05:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.