CPU temps out of control - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-18-2006, 10:58 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

hmm after poking around google, people everywhere are having this problem. The thing reports temperatures 15-20C above what they should be. Still...mine just keeps rising.
__________________

__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 11:26 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

ok im installing windows now... everyone pray it doesnt explode...
__________________

__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 11:37 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

35% no explosion yet...
__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 11:39 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 12-20-2006, 02:54 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 337
Send a message via AIM to shdwsclan
Default

Hmm.....I had a problem like that on one of my fileservers....
The fileserver is a P4 2.0ghz 478 with 1gb of rambus, and ive packed 6 seagate hard drives in there, and a 600 watt psu....

Im thinking of watercooling the fossil, I had the same problem with heat.....
I bought a bunch of HD coolers, shims with fans for the rambus, and i swapped the stock fan with an ASUS StarICE PRO....and a coupld case fans....it runs way better than it did before....but it sounds like a vaccum cleaner.....

If you really wanna do something descent, watercool it.....and use liquid xp.....
Ill tell you this, with the money ive spent overhauling the fossil, i could of bought a watercooling system....and it would have been a lot quieter.....
shdwsclan is offline  
Old 12-20-2006, 10:28 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

well i figured it out, there seems to be a common problem with all or most badaxe boards. The thing reads 20-25c higher then it actually is.

Ive confirmed this myself with an in-case heat sensor.

you think there would be no problem like this after shelling close to 300$ for their flagship board.
__________________

__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.