CPU temperature problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-03-2010, 03:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 9
Default CPU temperature problem

Hello, I'm using a Intel QuadCore Q6600 using stock cooling in a Antec P190 case.

When I went into the BIOS today I noticed it said my CPU temperature was around 50C idle, which looked weird. I opened my case, and put my finger on the heatsink and it wasnt even hot.

I downloaded Core Temp to measure my CPU temp, and it said all 4 cores were around 45-50C idle. Then I downloaded SpeedFan which said my CPU temp was around 25-30C idle, which seems to be more correct seeing as the heatsink wasn't really hot.

Can both my motherboard temp monitor and Core Temp read wrong while SpeedFan is right, or the other way around? Is there any good way to see for sure if its being overheated or not?

Thanks!
__________________

lill87 is offline  
Old 02-03-2010, 03:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: CPU temperature problem

Well Its not over heating yet..... Your BIOS is correct though, so that means coretemps correct. Are you overclocked at all?

How old is it? at least a year being a q6600. It might be just the thermal paste is old and dry.
Check your intake fans for dust, aswell as your heatsink.

Get some new thermal paste, Arctic Silver 5, or such.. not my knowledgeable area, and redo it up.

Welcome to the forum BTW.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-03-2010, 03:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 9
Default Re: CPU temperature problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
Well Its not over heating yet..... Your BIOS is correct though, so that means coretemps correct. Are you overclocked at all?

How old is it? at least a year being a q6600. It might be just the thermal paste is old and dry.
Check your intake fans for dust, aswell as your heatsink.

Get some new thermal paste, Arctic Silver 5, or such.. not my knowledgeable area, and redo it up.

Welcome to the forum BTW.
No I'm not overclocked yet, was going to but I think the CPU is too hot for that now.
The CPU is about 1 year old, I have clean air filters on the case as I clean them regularly but I haven't changed the thermal paste yet, so I guess it's that then.

Do I have to remove the old paste before applying new? if so, whats the best way to do it?

Thanks for the response.
lill87 is offline  
Old 02-03-2010, 04:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: CPU temperature problem

Yha, you clean both the cpu and the heatsink.

I could explain hows, but search google, you'll get better explination, AND pictures!

Remember though, if you do oc, you'll need a better heatsink.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-03-2010, 04:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: CPU temperature problem

Yeah, you need to re-apply the paste. I personally use a dull knife to get most of it off, but there are other ways of doing it.

I have the same CPU, and It's running at 35C, overclocked to 3068.6 MHz (original: 2400 MHz, overclock: 28%) I use CoreTemp to keep an eye on my CPU temps.

Get a better heatsink as well. I love the Xigmatek line.

And welcome to TF
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-03-2010, 04:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default Re: CPU temperature problem

Good way to remove old thermal paste is with rubbing alcohol and something like a coffee filter. To put new paste on, just put a drop about the size of a small pea or grain of rice and then when you put the heatsink back on the pressure from that will spread the paste around well. That's what I've done. Other people use a card to spread an even sheet of paste around before putting the heatsink back on...I find that a little too difficult, although maybe the paste I used was thicker than theirs.
__________________

PII 940 :: 5870 :: Rage powered
james.wired is offline  
Old 02-03-2010, 06:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: CPU temperature problem

^I do it like james does.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-04-2010, 03:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 9
Default Re: CPU temperature problem

Hello again, I've removed the heatsink and blew it free of dust and reapplied thermal paste, CPU temp went down to a nice 35-40C idle temp and 50-55C full load temp.

I overclocked the Q6600 from 2,4GHZ to 3,0GHZ (9x333) and everything seems to be stable, the temps are 40-45C idle and 60-65C full load.

Are those safe temperatures, or do I need to tune it down?

Thanks for all the responses!
lill87 is offline  
Old 02-04-2010, 06:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: CPU temperature problem

Nope, those are fine. Not sure your heatsink, but you'd need a decent one to get it lower.

Did you up your vcore when you overclocked?
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-04-2010, 07:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: CPU temperature problem

You should really try to keep your Load Temps in the low 60's max. Ideally you should try for 55-60 at full load. The stock cooler is really a poor overclocking choice and as you've experienced a little dust and a little time can cause your temps to skyrocket. At 65C your just a few degrees away from stability problems. You can get a decent cooler for $40-$50.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where to get CPU temperature monitor? Dant22185 System Upgrades 6 10-01-2009 08:12 PM
HP small compact desktop with a cpu upgrade problem... -RockMan- Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 07-10-2009 02:48 AM
Computer without CPU fan? lazycat Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 10-28-2008 12:01 AM
urgent temperature problem mikee Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 8 10-27-2008 01:52 PM
Problem Installing CPU Noniy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 06-24-2008 03:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.