CPU temp over 90C in idle!? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-11-2010, 06:34 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: CPU temp over 90C in idle!?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kage_maru189 View Post
also what is your power source? if it's too low it can cause these problems. I had a similar problem with an AMD athlon 64 and found out that after upgrading to a bigger power supply (a 520 watt server psu from a friend) that my cooling problems stopped. also noticed that the fan above the cpu when turned by hand was not spinning smoothly and swapped that out with a fan in better condition. just my 2 cents though on this subject.

Most likely the reason your cooling problems went away was the fan. It's highly unlikely that a power supply would have anything to do with overheating.
__________________

RichM499 is offline  
Old 04-11-2010, 07:30 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: CPU temp over 90C in idle!?

Yea, it's overheating. So if it's a power supply issue that means it'd be giving it to much...and I highly doubt that would happen.

I'd take the CPU fan off and check the thermal paste job. Obviously make sure you have some handy because if you remove the heatsink you have to re-apply the paste. Put about a rice size spot on it in the middle then put the heatsink on. I personally like to spread mine out with a razor in case the heatsink doesn't spread it evenly..but that's kind of optional.
__________________

__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 04-12-2010, 03:15 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 6
Default Re: CPU temp over 90C in idle!?

right, i removed the CPU fan (still trying to figure out how to put it back tho) and everything seemed kinda as it should, no clogging up of dust, just a few real fine specs. I have some thermal paste somewhere which i will apply this evening when i get home form work, thanks so far for everyones help. Would a stock fan really be that bad that my temps should be that high? Would a new fan solve my problem? Its worth trying anyway.....

Marc
mchizz is offline  
Old 04-12-2010, 07:56 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: CPU temp over 90C in idle!?

If it's a stock cooler then possibly. If it's installed incorrectly then it could most certainly be the cause of the overheating.

What kind of thermal paste do you have? I would recommend buying some Tunix Tx-2 from Newegg It's only 6 dollars shipping included.
It works much better than the white stock stuff. It's also arguably better than Arctic Silver, and it's non-conductive (unlike Arctic Silver) so, if you screw up you don't have to worry as much.

Also, make sure to THOROUGHLY clean the original paste from the heatsink base and the heatspreader on the processor. I usually use a lint free cloth for really gunky stuff, and scrub it softly with acetone, or isopropyl alcohol. Make sure that even the tiniest remnants are completely removed, because any gap between the Heatsink/CPU will cause a big rise in temps.

Apply a small pea sized dab in the middle, or better yet, check out Slaymate's Method.

Be careful, and good luck.
RichM499 is offline  
Old 04-12-2010, 10:04 AM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: CPU temp over 90C in idle!?

Even with the stock fan the temperature shouldn't be that high.

Re-apply the paste and heatsink and check out the temps from there.
__________________

__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU Temp VS Core Temps Ejjman1 New Systems | Building and Buying 15 08-26-2009 12:12 AM
where to place CPU temp probe? Antec-User New Systems | Building and Buying 1 02-23-2009 10:14 AM
What's the best CPU I can get............ hesson81 System Upgrades 15 02-12-2009 08:44 PM
CPU Confusion SmellyOne Overclocking and Modding 2 10-22-2007 01:50 AM
Max Operating Temperature = CPU Temp or Core Temps? commandercup Overclocking and Modding 2 09-28-2007 07:36 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.