CPU temp to high...? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2007, 02:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 47
Default CPU temp to high...?

I was just messing around in the Bios of my Compaq computer when I found the CPU temp. It says that the temp is 53c and it wasn't processing anything. Is this to high of a temp when it's idle?

P.S. I don't think I've ever looked inside of the case, so I don't know what's in it.
__________________

Flame Hawk is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 02:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: CPU temp to high...?

That's a fine temperature.
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 02:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: CPU temp to high...?

That's fairly high for an idle temp. Try opening up the case and use a can of air to clean the dust out.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 06:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 47
Default Re: CPU temp to high...?

Ok, I'll try that Peter. I'll let you guys know what I find out.
Flame Hawk is offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 11:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 47
Default Re: CPU temp to high...?

Ok, I have diagnosed the problem... It's lack-of-fans syndrome. The only fan I found was for the heat sink, and it was a bit dusty. Should I consider getting a case fan for it?
Flame Hawk is offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 11:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: CPU temp to high...?

Of course. Having just the CPU fan, there's barely if at all, any airflow. Get a case fan, and use it as an intake, to take in cool air. Clean the dust too, as it keeps the heat in.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 11:51 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 47
Default Re: CPU temp to high...?

Yea, just used an air compressor to blow the dust out. The cpu temp dropped 10c. There is a place to mount a fan in the back of the case, so I might get one to do that. Hopefully it will help. Anyways, should the fan be intake or exhaust?
Flame Hawk is offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 11:53 AM   #8 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: CPU temp to high...?

The rear fan, should be an exhaust. You don't have a place in the front, for an intake fan?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 04:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 122
Default Re: CPU temp to high...?

you have to keep in mind the room tempurature as well as this will affect your computer temps. also the more powerful processors from intel run hot, so as long as it's not at 60 - 70 C it's not actually damaging it. but it doesn't hurt to bring it down, as it will last longer and work more efficiently. but don't worry that it's being damaged. at 53 C it's ok.
__________________
Pentium D Dual core 2.8 GHz
Thermaltake Big Typhoon (CPU Cooler)
Radeon X 300 Series
Kingston 2 GB RAM
2 Seagate 160 GB HDD 7200
Thermaltake 500 Watt PSU
Sony 17" LCD Monitor
Thermaltake "Tsunami Dream" case
Sony DVD ROM
Pioneer DVD RW
Wverb0783 is offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 04:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: CPU temp to high...?

Well 53C idle is too warm. It must be in the 60-70C range, during load.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
idle temp Nick Overclocking and Modding 13 08-16-2007 12:06 PM
Is this too high of a temp? braz Overclocking and Modding 15 08-12-2007 06:19 PM
60C for motherboard temp good? advancedgeek Overclocking and Modding 4 07-22-2007 10:21 PM
3000 High Resolution Wallpapers Osiris Web Graphics and Design 6 07-09-2007 02:53 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.