CPU Squeal - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2009, 06:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Default CPU Squeal

Hi Folks,

I just recently built a computer, it isn't my first build but it certainly cost me the most money . Anyway I am now hearing a high pitched, electric kind of squeal coming from the CPU or somewhere in that region. It isn't loud at all but it is just loud enough for me to hear when sitting close to my computer. I was just wondering if this was something I needed to be worried about. Should I get a new CPU?
__________________

FPavey is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 06:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: CPU Squeal

I don't think the CPU can squeal.

Sounds like a capacitor. Could be something in the PSU, or could be a noisy fan. I don't think it's anything to worry about unless it's causing problems.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 06:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: CPU Squeal

Squeal's are usually the result of a blown capacitor. If you can actually hear where it is coming from and its not the PSU, its probably the motherboard.
zedman3d is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 06:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: CPU Squeal

So would you recommend getting a new MOBO. It only squeals when something is working in the computer (web page loading, anti virus working, ect.) It doesn't take much for it to start.
FPavey is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 06:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: CPU Squeal

Quote:
Originally Posted by zedman3d View Post
Squeal's are usually the result of a blown capacitor. If you can actually hear where it is coming from and its not the PSU, its probably the motherboard.
No, it doesn't have to be blown to squeal.

If it only happens during a load, then it is probably the PSU. Can you list all of your specs please?
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 06:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: CPU Squeal

AMD Athlon 64 X@ Dual Core Processor 3.21GHz
4 Gigs RAM
NVIDIA GeForce 9800gt ( I just bought this)
FPavey is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 06:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: CPU Squeal

What is your PSU?

EDIT: And motherboard.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 06:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: CPU Squeal

400 watt Dynex best buy brand
FPavey is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 06:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: CPU Squeal

Dynex is an utterly terrible brand. I reckon that is where your squeal is coming from, the cheap branded capacitors that it most likely uses.

I recommend you buy a decent PSU. I mean, just look at the name...Dynex. "Die Next"...
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 07:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: CPU Squeal

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazeD View Post
Dynex. "Die Next"...
most epic, but i agree this is prolly your problem, did it start after you added your new video card? if so id definitely say your psu is your problem

Newegg.com - PC Power & Cooling Silencer PPCS420X 420W ATX12V 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply - Power Supplies

%20 off coupon Jansave20 with 20 mir = very cheap!
__________________

__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which CPU cooler would be most benefical? grkbar New Systems | Building and Buying 5 09-28-2008 10:22 AM
CPU OVERHEAT, help!!!!! Phate Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 24 09-24-2008 09:58 AM
Windows XP consistantly running at 50% + CPU Usage Kutabare HijackThis Logs (finished) 3 09-05-2008 10:12 PM
CPU Cooler NEED HELP LOL stillwitpentium System Upgrades 16 11-18-2007 04:45 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.