CPU speed fallout - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-07-2005, 02:29 PM   #41 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 36
Default

there has been a 12inc table fan blowing into my machine for a month now....hehe and my CMOS jumpers are correct
__________________

JellyMan is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 02:30 PM   #42 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 36
Default

well..how do i set it back to normal? i dont want to leave it at 50% ..what should i set it to for normal??
__________________

JellyMan is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 02:32 PM   #43 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

Also, look for a large collection of dust on the heatsink it's self. That will help stop the heat from getting out.

if the Bios is flagged as setting the CP at 50%, then you can change it, but if the temp rises, it's going to set it back. You need to get the temp under control then you can deal with the bios settings.
Inaris is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 02:33 PM   #44 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 36
Default

/flail well ill look to buy a bigger fan getin these fat cables out of here and buyin a bigger heatsink...but ill probably have to come back and make a thread labled....How do you install a heatsink and not break your mboard open =p
JellyMan is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 02:33 PM   #45 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

take out the heatsink and look at the bottom of it and on the cpu for thermal paste, if there is. then stick the heatsink back on firmly and turn on your system.

also check the temps before you do this in the bios
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 02:44 PM   #46 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 36
Default

well the temp in my bio is well below the red, and i dissabled the "thermal Throttling" and i still dont have my full prossesor power......?
JellyMan is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 03:39 PM   #47 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

can you post the inforatmion that is being shown in the BIOS? it's going to be a lot of stuff, but list is all the best you can. or make a document that contains it all and attach it.

Need to see what your settings look like
Inaris is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 03:44 PM   #48 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 36
Default

wich page of the BIOS? The whole thing will take some time...lol
JellyMan is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 03:47 PM   #49 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 191
Send a message via AIM to PhillipBelcher Send a message via Yahoo to PhillipBelcher
Default

did you reset your bios back to default?
PhillipBelcher is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 03:48 PM   #50 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 36
Default

yar, dude is gonna make me type out my whole BIOS /cry , lol
__________________

JellyMan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.