CPU speed fallout - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-07-2005, 01:49 PM   #31 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 36
Default

fo sho thx
__________________

JellyMan is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 01:57 PM   #32 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

can you get the MOBO model number please?

From what I can gather from your conversations here, this is what you have...

AMD athlon 2200 with 266 FSB.
DFI Lanparty, unknown model.(possibly:LANPARTY KT400A or LANPARTY NF II )

One thing that I think of right away is heat. The processor and mobo that you are using, should have a thermal control system which in the case of a high temp reading, will clock your processor back.
Have you checked your heatsink and thermal compound? have you checked to make sure you have adaquate air flow through the case?

Your processor has been clocked back by 50%, which I would take as a safty measure the system is doing.
Take a look and see what you find. Remove the side, then look at the heatsink/fan assembly. is it working?
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 02:06 PM   #33 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 36
Default

looking...
JellyMan is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 02:16 PM   #34 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 36
Default

its the Lanparty NF II Ultra....thats the model apparently
JellyMan is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 02:17 PM   #35 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 36
Default

dude your totaly right because, it has been over heating so bad that i had to take the side pannel off and stick a fan next to it...and when i check the BIOS it says 50% heat thing...
JellyMan is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 02:18 PM   #36 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 36
Default

this thing has always overheated reall bad...i try to keep my room cool but there is only so much i can do for it
JellyMan is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 02:20 PM   #37 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 36
Default

the fan is working and the heat sink is.....sinking....lol
JellyMan is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 02:28 PM   #38 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 36
Default

so should i change the 50% thing to something else?
JellyMan is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 02:28 PM   #39 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

try sticking one of those big house fans in the side of your case and see what happens. also make sure your CMOS jumpers are correct, cause i heard one time that it was default on 1-2 and he put it on 2-3 and it was back to normal
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 02:29 PM   #40 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

well, there you go. You need to find a new heat sink, and fan. Get something that has a lot of fins, and a decent fan.

There is nothing wrong with your machine, it's just that there isn't enough air moving through it. Look for ways to get the cables out of the way, and make sure you have an intake and exhaust fan running.

Good luck
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.