cpu running too hot???? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2006, 01:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5
Default cpu running too hot????

Hi there all

Just a quick question, my intel celron 850Mhz processor is running at 52C. Is this too hot. I am getting a constant beeping from the motherboard. Am i right in saying the processor is too hot?

Cheers
__________________

razzobazzo is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 03:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

im guessing its a skt 370 coppermine ur temps should be around 77-80c
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 03:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for that. I am puzzled about this beeping, it gets increasingly worse until it starts to emit a siren sound. I am guessing that as everything is normal apart from the beeping/siren (i.e. you can browse the internet, download files, use ad aware etc etc) it must be either a mobo problem or overheating. On speedfan fan 1 was 3800 rpm and 52c, what was alarming was fan 2 0rpm 128c. fan 1 i know is cpu, but not sure about this second reading. On PC wizard it shows as 52c for cpua nd about 20c for hard drive. Oh yes, it is a socket 370 Gigabyte GA-6WMM7 rev 4.1
razzobazzo is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 03:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

You can't always trust those type of programs. Look in the bios in the protection area and see what temp or fan speed is flashing or a different color and tell us what it is. You may have the temp warning level set to low.
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 08:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

like FlashDude said check ur BIOS because programs can sometimes give u bs. ur temps are suppose to be around the 70-80c unless u ran the program right away after cold boot.
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 09:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

80c is melt down temp. it should start out around room temp about 25c then not go up past 60c under normal load.
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 10:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FlashDude
80c is melt down temp. it should start out around room temp about 25c then not go up past 60c under normal load.

this will come in handy:
http://i130.photobucket.com/albums/p...istory_big.gif
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 11:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

This is pretty handy as well

http://processorfinder.intel.com/det...px?sSpec=SL5GB

80c is the thermal spec of the cpu, Which means that's when it stops becoming a solid and becomes a liquid!
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 11:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sylwek
ur temps are suppose to be around the 70-80c unless u ran the program right away after cold boot.

What have you been smoking?? :freak:
Shumway is offline  
Old 11-09-2006, 12:16 AM   #10 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

i guess i read my graph wrong, so i guess 80c is the limit or melt-down
thnx for correcting me lol
its good to know
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.