CPU problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-31-2005, 08:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3
Default CPU problem

Hey

I have had my compaq presario R3479EA for under a year and untill now its been fine (exept for the HD being totaled in the first week). Rentley i have been getting problems with what i believe to be the cause of a screwed CPU.

The computer will turn on and function perfectly and then when either burning cd's, gaming, downloading etc...it turns itself off without warning.

I have spoke to HP and they reckon its a problem with either the CPU or memory

Does anyone have a clue on how to fix this without me sendning off my comp?
__________________

Ranthony is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 10:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I'd say it might be the PSU. I don' think the CPU or RAM would cause it to turn off, but to crash programs.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 03:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 359
Default

it could be either the Ram or the PSU.. but make sure that you clean out your computer for dust(check all the heatsinks and fans when the comp is off).

(Note that if it is still under warranty DO NOT open your case and do any of this testing)

When your comp is open Make sure you wear latex gloves or something (or keep yourself grounded the entire time) as you could unintentionally shock your computer and kill it.



It is possible it's shutting down due to heat issues.

If you know enough about electronics.. next thing you'd want to do is test the PSU under load but.. for an average end user.. this can end up lighting you like a xmas tree if you do something wrong.
kiyotaka is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 03:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 359
Default

I highly doubt it's the processor.. When those go THEY GO.. comp won't even boot at all.. It could be the processor overheating due to poor heat dissipation (dust clogged heatsink etc)
kiyotaka is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 04:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

I would run memtest86 on that memory. Have you checked to make sure that the CPU fan is functioning? Your CPU could be overheating. The PSU is easy to test if you can swap out a PSU from another puter, wether yours or a friends, and temporaily run you puter that way. You simply need to plug in the test PSU externall(outside the case). Pull the mobo power connector(s) carefully and all the hd and cdrom etc aux power connectors and repower them from the trial PSU. If all is good then your PSU is bad, otherwise it's memory or overheating cpu.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 04:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Its probably his computer shutting down due to heat problems. 1 year worth of dust is probably clogging his HSF.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 06:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to dipique
Default

I had a problem like that once; as it turned out, the BIOS shut down temp was set too low so it turned my computer off whenever it was under a heavy load.

Dan
dipique is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 04:37 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3
Default Almost solved

As the laptop kept turning itself off i figured its more likely to be casued by power supply.

I have taken the battery out and it is cutting out much less frequently....however it still has cut out!!

What's the best way to clear dust from laptops?
Ranthony is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 05:25 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 359
Default Re: Almost solved

Quote:
Originally posted by Ranthony
As the laptop kept turning itself off i figured its more likely to be casued by power supply.

I have taken the battery out and it is cutting out much less frequently....however it still has cut out!!

What's the best way to clear dust from laptops?
without risking utter doom? a can of compressed air and hoping for the best.. Taking a laptop apart is like opening a can of worms.. Good luck getting that sucker back together if you ever think of that.
__________________

kiyotaka is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.