cpu pins - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2006, 03:04 PM   #21 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

i would like a picture of this if possible

A Cpu with 15 bent pins will not go into the socket easily, it is not broken but will become broken if you force it into the socket and break/short out the pins.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 03:09 PM   #22 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 17
Default

i straightend out the cpu pins allready im using it right now some of the pins arn't completly straight their banana shape and one is zigzag shape but its fits in the socket and it works cause im on it right now hehe
__________________

Partyraiser is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 03:10 PM   #23 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

oh, well if they are out by a little bit that usually doenst matter.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 03:12 PM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 17
Default

by zigzag i mean like the pins hase a dent it goes straight then it curves not like banana shape but like a bent in the midle of the pin
yeah also i ran prime 95 for 3hours seems stable and everything
just gatta be care full next time i mess with it
Partyraiser is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 12:23 AM   #25 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

dont mess with it anymore! please! never again until you intend to throw it out.... im scared for its life!
__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 03:35 PM   #26 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 17
Default

OMFG im having such bad luck this week god **** it you know what just happend?
i tripped cause of **** dog and fell and i fell against my pc and
pc hit the wall i look back of the computer u know that silver part in the back were everything plugs into? well that was inside now with the motherboard yes it got bent !! **** it and also my psu
the black thingy were power cord goes got broken and big dent in the psu,so i took pc apart and manage to fix everything and fix the black psu thing with super glue and the mobo is just fine
everything is working fine like it was before **** wtf why did i have so bad luck this week?
heh i guess its fine and i will never never touch it again and next time ill watch were i walk
Partyraiser is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 09:14 AM   #27 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
mole1135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 347
Send a message via AIM to mole1135 Send a message via Yahoo to mole1135
Cool

the best thing to do when removing the heat sink is to run a program that uses alot of cpu or a bench mark program that will heat up the processor and soften the thermal past then try to remove the heatsink
mole1135 is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 09:20 AM   #28 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

^^ It still isn't guarenteed to work.

I think it has happened to most of us, it isn't nearly as bad with thermal paste as it is with a pad. A little twist works well with paste, but with a pad, I accept that I will rip it out of the socket, and make sure I lift it up completly verticle.

I wish I could see peoples faces when they do it though. I can imaging mine so well when I did it for the first time.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.