CPU Overheating - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2011, 11:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Default CPU Overheating

Hey there, I'm new to these forums and I'm sure my question has come up many times on these forums, but I figured every overheating problem has it's own story.

Right to the problem. My computer, the CPU actually, likes to sit at 60-70C on idle. The max temp for my CPU is 73C.

Specs:
M3A78-CM
AMD Athlon 7750 Black Edition CPU 64 bit
4GB of DDr2 667 ram
Using onboard video card (ATI 3100)
650W PSU
Windows 7 Pro 64-bit

I've used Speedfan, PC Probe and the bios to monitor the CPU temp, and it's all the same.

I've tried:
Buying a completely new case with better ventilation
Applying new thermal grease (Tuniq TX-2)
Re-adjusting the Heat sink fan

I had purchased basically the same computer for my room mate and she is having the same problem. I'm fresh out of ideas and technical knowledge as to why this is happening

Any input would be greatly appreciated
__________________

Felony is offline  
Old 02-21-2011, 08:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: CPU Overheating

Hmm, even with the current stuff, you did to improve ventalation and reapplying some new thermal grease...

Have you tried updating the motherboards bios ? it maybe the mobo is not reading the tempature correctly after some adjustments.
Update that first and then go look at your mobo settings again see if it drops back to 38c or 42c.
__________________

-RockMan- is offline  
Old 02-21-2011, 12:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: CPU Overheating

Well heat is caused by 2 things..... Your Voltage settings and the room temp.

Have you overclocked the chip? Doubt it due to both having issues.

Whats your roomtemp? My house is 26C and so I run at 73C loaded out... drop my room by 3C and i drop 5C or more.

I'm incline to think though, thde cpu is overvolted. I'd look for the newest bios, then read up on overclocking, so thagt you can manually set your Vcore as to get enogh power and less heagt.

Welcome to TF too.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-21-2011, 03:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Default Re: CPU Overheating

MidnightMike: I have not tried that yet and don't have much knowledge on how to either, so I haven't really looked into it but will probably look it up and try. Thanks for the suggestion.

patonb:
I have actually underclocked the chip from 2700MHz to 2200Mhz to see if it would improve the temp. I'm in the great white north (Canada) so it doesn't get too warm in my room and I leave my window open slightly to let the air flow through. However when the temp in the room goes up, the computer doesn't like handling that too well, so you are right there.

I will look into an updated bios and see if I can lower the voltage going through. Thanks for the input
Felony is offline  
Old 02-21-2011, 03:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: CPU Overheating

Yha, i'm in canada too, my 2 rigs are my heaters..... underclocking is only part of the equation, you now need to lower the Vcore...

But get the newest bios, and look into lowering the Vcore too.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-21-2011, 06:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Default Re: CPU Overheating

I've updated the bios to the latest...Unfortunately there is no option to lower the vcore, only increase it. I've looked through the bios and had another computer friend help me and we couldn't find where to decrease the Vcore voltage.
Felony is offline  
Old 02-21-2011, 06:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: CPU Overheating

Hmm, i looked in the manual and it seems its auto, +50, 100/150/

Maybe try at +50. It could be overvoting more than it really should.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-21-2011, 07:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: CPU Overheating

It sounds like you either have to much thermal paste applied or the heatsink isn't making full contact with the cpu. Can you post a picture of your heatsink installed and another picture of the cpu with the heatsink removed (don't wipe off the thermal paste).
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 02-21-2011, 08:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Default Re: CPU Overheating




I didn't apply the thermal paste myself as that was a bit out of my knowledge, I had my 'techie' friend do it for me and take the pictures. TBH, it looks like too much to me, but I could be wrong.
Felony is offline  
Old 02-21-2011, 08:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: CPU Overheating

It might have a little to much. Clean the paste off of the heatsink but leave the existing paste on the cpu and see if your temps drop any. The paste pattern looks OK though, or it looks like the heatsink was attached correctly.

I would suspect the fan. Just because it's spinning it doesn't mean it moving the air it should. Measure the fan with a metric ruler to size it. It's probably a 70mm x 70mm or it might be a 80mm x 80mm from the looks of it.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GPU overheating jkphotoguy Overclocking and Modding 5 02-18-2010 11:56 AM
gpu overheating help please Aaron844 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 02-05-2010 03:35 AM
overheating help please gene4228 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 12-26-2005 02:04 PM
Overheating ITZBVAN005 Overclocking and Modding 8 10-23-2005 02:24 AM
Overheating? -Z- Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 06-30-2005 10:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.