CPU overheating - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-19-2010, 04:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 7
Default CPU overheating

Hi all!

I recently built a new PC (my first ) and have had it for about two weeks. I've been using it for games and never had any problems. However, I only just recently decided to check the cpu temps just to make sure everything is alright (I probably should have done this sooner). To my suprise, it says the temp for core 2 is running at over 80C at idle!!

I've tried using hw monitor and speed fan and both give me similar results. However, the bios temperature only reads 34C for the cpu.

I've tried reapplying thermal paste (arctic mx-3) but it doesn't help - that may be because I'm applying it wrong (I put a small bead in the center of the cpu and push the heat sink on top, however, I can'nt seem to fasten clasp without twisting it slightly)

I'm not sure if there's a faulty sensor, mechanical problem or something else Any help would be much appretiated.
__________________

1misterT is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 04:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: CPU overheating

What kind of system is it? An i5 or an i7 based PC?

If your answer to the i5 or i7 is yes then the temp reported in your bios is the temp of the cpu socket, not the actual cpu temp.

The heatsink needs to be fastened securely with all 4 of the clasps, twisting it slightly is ok.

Take the heatsink back off and look at the paste pattern left on the cpu and the base of the heatsink. Is the paste covering the whole cpu good? To much is bad, but too little is also bad.

Don't forget to plug the fan in.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 04:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 7
Default Re: CPU overheating

Thanks for the quick response!

The cpu is a phenomon 955.

I've tried reapplying the thermal past... the pattern left behind by the last time look good, it seemed to cover the chip well. However, it temps are still high. I'm worried it might be the mechanical connection and I'm doing something wrong, the heatsink doesn't seem to be getting very hot, at least to the touch.
1misterT is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 04:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: CPU overheating

Well I'm not an AMD expert, but if the bios is only showing (1) cpu temp then it still must be the scoket temp as the Phenom has more than (1) core temp to report.

Post a screenshot of HW Monitor so we can see all the details.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 05:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 7
Default Re: CPU overheating



I had the same thought about the bios. I'm confuse why only one core would have such a high temp though...
1misterT is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 05:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: CPU overheating

Once again, I'm not an AMD expert, but isn't the 955 a quad core cpu? I'm thinking it should be reporting 4 different temperatures.

Is your mobo updated with the latest bios?
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 08:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 7
Default Re: CPU overheating

Yes, the 955 is a quad core.

I was kind of confused about what the program is reporting too... this is the first time I've done anything like this... When you run these programs does it give you something different? The readings don't really make sense to me.

I haven't updated the bios for my motherboard, I'm actually kinda hesitant to do so b/c i am kind of new and don't want to screw it up. Do you think it will help?
1misterT is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 03:37 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: CPU overheating

What motherboard do you have?
__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 09:43 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 7
Default Re: CPU overheating

The motherboard is a msi nf980-g65
1misterT is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 10:24 AM   #10 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: CPU overheating

you can download cpuz and it will tell you what bios version you have.

it looks like the latest version should be 1.2
__________________

Muffin Man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU overheating (semi)random shutdowns Sevuth System Upgrades 6 01-18-2009 12:24 PM
CPU Overheating? u4ic_fln Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 12-05-2008 03:50 PM
Which CPU cooler would be most benefical? grkbar New Systems | Building and Buying 5 09-28-2008 10:22 AM
Overclocked 3.2ghz Pentium D processor by 15% EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 1 12-19-2007 11:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.