CPU multiplier fluctuations. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-03-2008, 05:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Mordred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 214
Send a message via AIM to Mordred
Default CPU multiplier fluctuations.

I got my replacement motherboard today, and finally got my memory at 1066Mhz, but when I opened up cpuz this is what I saw:




One second my multiplier was at x6 and the next it was at x9.

Thoughts or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
__________________

Mordred is offline  
Old 11-03-2008, 05:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: CPU multiplier fluctuations.

Speedstep... please use the search feature next time.. Here's the explanation

CPU Speed Changing? Speedstep and Cool and Quiet Technology Explained
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-03-2008, 06:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Mordred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 214
Send a message via AIM to Mordred
Default Re: CPU multiplier fluctuations.

I feel like a complete noob right now. But thank you very much for the help. Next time I will search harder before starting a new thread.
:embaressed::embaressed:
Mordred is offline  
Old 11-03-2008, 06:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: CPU multiplier fluctuations.

I solely recommend keeping it on..
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-03-2008, 06:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Mordred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 214
Send a message via AIM to Mordred
Default Re: CPU multiplier fluctuations.

Keeping speedstep on?
Wouldn't it be better to always have your CPU running as fast as it can. Especially since I'm a gamer?
Mordred is offline  
Old 11-03-2008, 06:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: CPU multiplier fluctuations.

Yes, as it consumes less power when you aren't loading the whole Quad... these little less consuming of power adds up!
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-03-2008, 06:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Mordred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 214
Send a message via AIM to Mordred
Default Re: CPU multiplier fluctuations.

Lets just say I'm not worried about electrical costs. Will keeping it off harm any of my components?
Mordred is offline  
Old 11-03-2008, 06:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: CPU multiplier fluctuations.

Nah not at all
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-03-2008, 06:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: CPU multiplier fluctuations.

It also keeps the heat down. The only reason to turn speedstep off is when you are benchmarking and pushing as much as possible.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LDT Multiplier, CPU spread control, sata spread control... Da Viksta Overclocking and Modding 0 04-28-2008 05:40 PM
Looking to get a new GFX Card and possibly a CPU... What cooling would I need? EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 17 04-19-2008 11:20 PM
Overclocked 3.2ghz Pentium D processor by 15% EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 1 12-19-2007 11:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.