cpu and motherboard pins - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2008, 09:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 61
Default cpu and motherboard pins

i may have used too much force in puttin in my cpu, how would i be able to tell if any, if i damaged one of the pins on the motherboard. Would my computer even boot up, or would i get an error message...
__________________

xbox122501 is offline  
Old 02-20-2008, 09:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: cpu and motherboard pins

If the pin is broken, the PC won't boot.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 02-20-2008, 09:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to Niverive Send a message via MSN to Niverive Send a message via Yahoo to Niverive
Default Re: cpu and motherboard pins

Check the pins on the CPU, if bent you need to see if you can bend them back, but if they are horribly bent then you have a problem, there's a little release on the side of sockets to open up it up for your CPU, a CPU will very easily drop into the socket when open, if you tried to force it, the socket was either closed or pins were already bent.
__________________
OS: Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit
MOBO: ASUS M3N72-D (AM2+ Socket) CPU: AMD Phenom II 965 x4 Memory: 2GBx2 800 DDR2 Ram
HDD: 320GB (298GB) WDC WD3200AAKS SATA HDD2: 1TB WDC WD1001FALS SATA
Video: 8600GT OC Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
Niverive is offline  
Old 02-20-2008, 10:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: cpu and motherboard pins

Use a credit card or a and something skinny like a knife to straighten the pins out. After you get them as close as you can slid a credit card along the lines to make everything straight. Hold it up to the light to check. You need to be very careful when doing this.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 02-21-2008, 12:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 220
Default Re: cpu and motherboard pins

I've had this situation when I bought CPU from an ebay. ( that is the CPU OF my siggy...)
what you should do is.. be very careful.. don't apply so much force on it..
use a magnifier glass...and a knife or something that wouldn't bend the other pins when you apply force. If you have got so many pins damaged, do one pin at a time.
Tech-man is offline  
Old 02-21-2008, 12:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: cpu and motherboard pins

To straighten pins, use the barrel of an (empty) lead/mechanical pencil. Perfect fit, and one pin at a time.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-21-2008, 06:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: cpu and motherboard pins

Nobody reads his post do they? He is working on a modern mobo: socket 775. The pins are on the mobo...
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 02-21-2008, 10:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: cpu and motherboard pins

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
Nobody reads his post do they? He is working on a modern mobo: socket 775. The pins are on the mobo...
Who said he still cant straighten them out. What I said still applies.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 02-21-2008, 10:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: cpu and motherboard pins

Quote:
Originally Posted by sPlAtOiD View Post
Who said he still cant straighten them out. What I said still applies.
You can straighten out the pins on a socket 775 mobo?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 02-22-2008, 02:35 AM   #10 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: cpu and motherboard pins

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
You can straighten out the pins on a socket 775 mobo?
As long as the pin is touching the proper spot on the CPU it should work so yes.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is a 1:1 overclock? aetherh4cker Overclocking and Modding 22 01-17-2008 04:02 PM
Overclocked 3.2ghz Pentium D processor by 15% EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 1 12-19-2007 11:52 PM
Replacing Motherboard, Help Needed Rask Vann New Systems | Building and Buying 9 11-15-2007 09:40 AM
Please explain what a CPU Clock Speed is fcui21 System Upgrades 3 10-03-2007 06:36 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.