CPU&MOBO blues - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-27-2006, 07:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 55
Default CPU&MOBO blues

Well, im building my new computer, already have the case and power supply and bought some more powerful fans, so now my next step is to choose a mobo and cpu. I've alreayd chosen the CPU I want, the Intel Pentium D 830. But now the thing is I need to find out what motherboards fit with that CPU. The 8N-SLI-Royal caught my eye. So ill admit it, I know little to nothing about mobos, cpu's, or chipsets, but the mother board mentioned something about and Itnel LGA775 if that helps any. So if anyone can confirm weather or not the Pentium D 830 fits in the 8N-SLI-Royal will be apreciated. And if not, any reconmendations/list of other mobos will help aswell.
Troy
PS- I would also like to know weather or not this motherboard uses IDE or ATA serial cables.
__________________

Fireheart is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 08:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

LGA775 is a kind of socket like "socket 478". What socket is the Pentium D?
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 08:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 55
Default

looks to be a LGA775....
Fireheart is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 08:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Please provide me with a link. If the Pentium D says that its a socket LG775 and the motherboard has LG775 then the chip will fit into the motherboard.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 08:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 55
Default

CPU:
http://intel.com/products/processor/pentium_D/index.htm
MOBO:
http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleID=1766

So all I have to do is pay attention to the CPU and MOBO's socket and that all that determines compatibility?
__________________
Gamer Extraordinaire
Fireheart is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 08:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

That motherboard and processor ARE compatible however that motherboard takes DDR2. Understand that DDR is 184pin and DDR2 is 240pin. DDR and DDR2 will NOT fit into each others slots so keep that in mind when your buying memory.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 08:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 55
Default

Alright, Ill make sure I do, thank you Shawn.
__________________
Gamer Extraordinaire
Fireheart is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 08:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 169
Default

how much do you have to spend on a board? Intel has their new chipset out, the 975x, I've only seen two intel supported boards that sport it, one's a gigabyte http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128002 and the other's an ASUS http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131589 I'd check out the ASUS, personally. But if your looking at something with the 955x chipset, check out this ABIT board http://www.abit-usa.com/products/mb/...es=1&model=298
Hope this helps
__________________
Intel PD 820; 3.36GHz, 31C idle 43C under load
Thermalright Ultra 120 CPU Cooler
3 120mm Delta case fans each @ 146 CFM
ASUS StrikerExtreme, WD Raptor 150Gb
4Gb Crucial Ballistix PC-6400 (5-6-6-21) @ 960MHz
LIAN LI PC-V2100APlus II, Sony & BTC DVD Burners
evga e-GeForce 8800GTX Superclocked 768MB
Antec TruePower Quattro 850W Modular Power Supply
icemakr is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 08:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Stay away from abit and asus. They are poor quality. You want to go with an Intel or Gigabyte motherboard when using an Intel chip
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 08:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 55
Default

Another question: with this mother board, when I want to get the HD and disk drive, do they need to be ATA serial compatible?
__________________

__________________
Gamer Extraordinaire
Fireheart is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.