CPU or Mobo? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-24-2014, 04:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: A House
Posts: 3
Default CPU or Mobo?

Right, so I recently built a brand new system

(First Mini-itx system.)

Motherboard
Gigabyte-H87N

Chip http:
i7 4790

When I have the barebones of PSU, GC, Chip & Mobo in it powers up, no video at all and after between 5 - 1m it powers off. Also there is a fluctuation in the power that can be heard when you turn it on. I've tested all other components in other systems and they all work fine, so it's got to be the Chip or Mobo.

I'm really not sure how to proceed, other than sending both of those components back.
__________________

imaduck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 04:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: CPU or Mobo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by imaduck View Post
Right, so I recently built a brand new system

(First Mini-itx system.)

Motherboard
Gigabyte-H87N

Chip http:
i7 4790

When I have the barebones of PSU, GC, Chip & Mobo in it powers up, no video at all and after between 5 - 1m it powers off. Also there is a fluctuation in the power that can be heard when you turn it on. I've tested all other components in other systems and they all work fine, so it's got to be the Chip or Mobo.

I'm really not sure how to proceed, other than sending both of those components back.
Check it out with another psu, the one you have is old 450watts
tell us the make and model by looking at the sticker on psu.
Also you said it automatically powers off right ?
How did you apply the grease to your new cpu ?

This is what I recommend:

. .
. .


Check and make sure you have heatink on correctly and the cord is pluged in cpu 3 pin socket not system fan.
__________________

-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 06:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,814
Default Re: CPU or Mobo?

I'm betting on PS too, The Haswell chips had a lot of issues with older PS because the older ones even the higher end ones that gave good power had issues due to the lower end of the voltage, Basically the PS didn't see enough draw so it had issues and the Haswell chips are very power efficient and draw much less than the older CPU's of the past. If you search there are lists of which PS's are Haswell compliant to work with the lower power draw. If I weren't on my phone if find the articles, interesting read on them too.

Dauntae
__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 12:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,293
Default Re: CPU or Mobo?

Flash your bios. That is a new CPU going into an older board.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 11:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: earth usa
Posts: 112
Default Re: CPU or Mobo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Flash your bios. That is a new CPU going into an older board.
when you build a new system, how often is this step needed and how do you check to see if you need to do this before you assemble the parts?
mud beaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 12:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,293
Default Re: CPU or Mobo?

It's not really often needed. It's just some people overlook certain chips being newer than their board. The 4*9* chips that just came out this month are new and some of the older 8 series boards need a bios update before being able to use them properly.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 12:22 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: CPU or Mobo?

The CPU compatibility chart for that board shows "Haswell Refresh" and I'm not familiar with that term.....

Here's the compatibility list:
GIGABYTE TECHNOLOGY Socket 1150 - Intel H87 - GA-H87N-WIFI (rev. 1.x)
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 01:11 AM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,293
Default Re: CPU or Mobo?

Hawell refresh would be the chips I mentioned. They are just a fresh chip recently released.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shuts off immediately, new Mobo & CPU, works without CPU chrispaterson82 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 09-23-2009 08:47 PM
Good mobo and ok cpu or good cpu and ok mobo? BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL System Upgrades 13 01-22-2006 09:46 PM
mobo vs mobo devil_warrior Overclocking and Modding 6 01-11-2005 07:54 AM
front panel mobo connectors and front audio mobo connectors help!!! ardy89 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 11-19-2004 11:06 AM
Good MoBo.. Or No Good MoBo!?!?! ThePCmaN Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 9 10-08-2004 03:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.