CPU + Memory running at TERRIBLE speeds?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-21-2009, 05:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 91
Default CPU + Memory running at TERRIBLE speeds??

Running Windows 7, 64 bit.

I click on the thing in bottom right, then right-click Computer and select properties. The thing says I have 6.00 Gb, but (3.99 Gb usable) This I don't think is good.

When I open up a utility to look at computer stuff, My Frequency of memory is 530 Mhz.

I have timings set to 7-7-7-24, and did not mess with any voltage.

My 2.66 Ghz i7 is at 1.53 Ghz, which I think is not very good AT ALL either. If these problems sound familiar, I love help!

When I turn on my computer, my HD light makes this clicking noise twice, if that has anything to do with it.

The memory is brand new..
Thanks!

-Ejj

EDIT: Thought this was wierd.
__________________

Ejjman1 is offline  
Old 12-21-2009, 05:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: CPU + Memory running at TERRIBLE speeds??

The cpu speed will change from time to time if you have EiST or C1E enabled, they are power saving options you can disable in the CMOS setup.

Some of the RAM sticks may either be bad or not seated correctlt.

Turn off computer, take out the RAM and rearrange them in the slots, make sure they are all the way locked in.

If the memory still reads incorrectly this means one or more sticks is dead. You will have to try one at a time to figure out which, either way you will probably have to RMA the entire kit.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 12-21-2009, 05:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 91
Default Re: CPU + Memory running at TERRIBLE speeds??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
The cpu speed will change from time to time if you have EiST or C1E enabled, they are power saving options you can disable in the CMOS setup.

Some of the RAM sticks may either be bad or not seated correctlt.

Turn off computer, take out the RAM and rearrange them in the slots, make sure they are all the way locked in.

If the memory still reads incorrectly this means one or more sticks is dead. You will have to try one at a time to figure out which, either way you will probably have to RMA the entire kit.
I already RMA'd a bad kit, after a piece broke. I just put these new ones in the computer not mroe than an hour ago.

I'll go ahead and look for EiST and C1E, and will re-seat my memory in place.

Thanks for the extreme response, if there's anything else you can think of!!


EDIT: I do not see either of these options in my BIOS.

I will try and take RAM out I suppose.
Ejjman1 is offline  
Old 12-21-2009, 06:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 91
Default Re: CPU + Memory running at TERRIBLE speeds??

I seem to not be able to edit my post.

I found the error, and my last memory was not seated all the way down. Thanks for the obvious point out, Ste.

Now, my processor is still at 1.59 GHz. I couldn't find any of those options on in my BIOS.

Thanks a whole bunch!
Ejjman1 is offline  
Old 12-21-2009, 06:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: CPU + Memory running at TERRIBLE speeds??

What motherboard do you have?

Looked through all menus?
Ste is offline  
Old 12-21-2009, 07:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 91
Default Re: CPU + Memory running at TERRIBLE speeds??

x58 sli LE

There's a speed step, it is disabled.

There's a C1E option that is disabled aswell

My multiplier will not rise from 12x I have found! Even if I set it in the BIOS to 20x, it's still 12.

EDIT: Well, I just loaded the defaults, and my computer started, and I'm at 2.7 GHz. I have no idea what to say, but ya.

ANYWAY, ste, one last thing, I got my stuff in July or so, and my BIOS has an update on the 30th of November. Should I go ahead and flash it to the new one? Is it worth it? Doesn't seem too hard.
Ejjman1 is offline  
Old 12-21-2009, 08:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: CPU + Memory running at TERRIBLE speeds??

I would have only said to flash it if you could not get the correct settings.

But since you reset the CMOS all looks good now.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 FAQ and Questions KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 1600 03-04-2013 11:29 PM
G.SKILL Memory 800mhz running at 400mhz Nino_1 Overclocking and Modding 9 02-11-2009 02:05 AM
Motherboard/ Memory Read Error Pezzy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 06-02-2008 09:40 PM
What memory? What CPU? Hapx4.0 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 01-10-2008 07:29 AM
Computer running out of Virtual Memory. Ckivi Viruses, Spyware and Malware 6 04-25-2007 04:09 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.