CPU isn't fitting into mobo Socket - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-01-2005, 07:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 13
Default CPU isn't fitting into mobo Socket

I ordered an AMD Athlon64 Venice 3000+ from NewEgg.com Retail and brand new, and I ordered a MSI Neo2 Platinum from AT user Xiode for 90$ used. Both arrived on my doorstep today, and I just tried installing the new parts.

I was pretty pissed to find out that the CPU did not slide into the pin holes instantly like it did with my Athlon XP 2800+ on my other motherboard. Everything is lined up perfectly, and it doesn't look at all like any of the pins are bent. I think something might be stuck inside one of the pin holes on the CPU socket because of the way it moves when I push on it.

Has this ever happened to anyone? Do you guys know how I might go about fixing this? I'm thinking of getting a toothpick and just poking each individual hole and seeing if that helps anything...

Anyone got ideas?
__________________

Stinkfist is offline  
Old 09-01-2005, 07:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

I hope you didn't buy the 754 version of the 3000+....

Well make sure none of the pins are bent, which you probably did by trying to place it in there, and BTW you might want to see if they accept bent pins or user-damage, because Newegg sure as heck doesn't.

And a CPU shouldn't "slide" into the holes, they should fit in the holes from above.
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 09-01-2005, 07:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Who's the idiot now, bwhahaha

(You probolly wont get this, but I am sure as hell he will)
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 09-01-2005, 08:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Counter-Strike
I hope you didn't buy the 754 version of the 3000+....

Well make sure none of the pins are bent, which you probably did by trying to place it in there, and BTW you might want to see if they accept bent pins or user-damage, because Newegg sure as heck doesn't.

And a CPU shouldn't "slide" into the holes, they should fit in the holes from above.
No, I didn't get the 754 version of the 3000+, I got the 939 Venice. .......

As for making sure the pins aren't bent, I have already. I didn't push down hard or anything because I know that would bend them, I'm not a dumbass like DJ-CHRIS here.

About sliding, I guess you misinterpreted. Fitting in from above=sliding in, in my book.

This post was mainly about finding a way to get out whatever the hell is stuck inside the pinholes on the motherboard, if there is any. I was hoping someone might've encountered this problem before and was hoping they'd know a way around it, as it isn't a major hardware problem like the motherboard isn't booting up, it's just that something's probably stuck inside. Not worth the trouble of sending it back to the manufacturer and all that **** unless it really IS broken, which I don't know yet.
Stinkfist is offline  
Old 09-02-2005, 08:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Default

maybe try givin it some pressured air? or vacuuming?
LoTeX is offline  
Old 09-02-2005, 10:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

same as my suggestion. try one of those "spray air" cans or one of the little solder vaccuums.

edit: o and if you're gonna call someone a dumb-*** at least back it up. we don't want a flame war.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-02-2005, 03:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 106
Default

a friend had similar prob with his P4.
that turned out that one of the holes in the edge was covered with plastic. Like a filure int hte molding (or what it called)
He scrached it with a nife, the hole apered. and the cpu fitted.
__________________

__________________
TJ...
Tjukken is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.