CPU Heat Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-22-2012, 04:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to Torey316
Default CPU Heat Question

I have an AMD Athlon 64x2 5600+ and whenever I use core temp / any other CPU heat monitoring program it never reads anything different then 50-55 C I don't understand why it doesn't get lower or get higher, If I'm idle its usually 51 if I play BF3 and its at 100% for an hour it gets to 55, Doesn't seem right to me, a lot of people say they are getting 25-35 C with stock cooler at idle.
__________________

Torey316 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 06:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: CPU Heat Question

that sucks, seems like you have the same issue as my laptop. The thermal sensor is broken.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 10:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Question Re: CPU Heat Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torey316 View Post
I have an AMD Athlon 64x2 5600+ and whenever I use core temp / any other CPU heat monitoring program it never reads anything different then 50-55 C I don't understand why it doesn't get lower or get higher
What kind of motherboard do you have by chance, how long have you had it ?
Also did this recently start up when you played BF3 ?
-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 10:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: CPU Heat Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
that sucks, seems like you have the same issue as my laptop. The thermal sensor is broken.
Temp sensor is probably broke as was said here ^^.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 10:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to Torey316
Default Re: CPU Heat Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike-Techno-Thug View Post
What kind of motherboard do you have by chance, how long have you had it ?
Also did this recently start up when you played BF3 ?
I have a evga 590 sli and it's been this way for quite some time, after playing rift for a long time it got to a max of 61 and low of 50 or something while not in game.

* btw thats mobo not gpu
Torey316 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU Heat Concerns Shinzou New Systems | Building and Buying 5 04-14-2012 07:04 PM
CPU Heat Sleeve Kdar New Systems | Building and Buying 7 02-16-2006 11:14 PM
CPU heat question AMD6415 System Upgrades 5 01-29-2006 08:58 PM
cpu just started to over heat !!! vcr182 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-08-2005 12:12 PM
cpu heat sensor Pepsiboy700 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 08-30-2005 03:54 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.