CPU Goes to 100% when running WMP or VLC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-19-2010, 12:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 44
Default CPU Goes to 100% when running WMP or VLC

I'm not sure if this is due to a recent RAM upgrade (computer seemed to run ok after I increased my Dell E1505 notebook from 1GB Ram PC-4300 to 3GB PC2-6400, even though the computer maxes out at PC2-5300). But now when I watch videos on VLC player or WMP the computer Core Duo processor may go up to 100% for an extended amount of time so that the computer runs extremely slowly, this didn't happen before.

Unfortunately I was dumb enough to throw away my old RAM after seeing good speed on the comp for two days.

I might have installed a few programs after the ram change like Photoshop CS5, Pidgin 2.7 (which I removed). Does anyone have a guess as to the root cause of this problem?

All of the RAM is recognized by the system (Even though the Crucial scan says that the comp can support only 2x1GB)
__________________

__________________
Running OS: Windows XP Professional with SP2
Shadow Rider is offline  
Old 05-19-2010, 01:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: CPU Goes to 100% when running WMP or VLC

if you swapped out the RAM, have you tried running memtest86? to test your RAM.
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 05-19-2010, 10:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
 
farinha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 866
Default Re: CPU Goes to 100% when running WMP or VLC

On the processes tab which process is using most of the cpu?
__________________

ASUS P5P77D :: INTEL i5 750@3.6 GHz :: Asus HD4890 :: 4GB Gskill Ripjaw 1600MHz CL7 :: WD Black 1TB :: SSD OCZ Vertex2 60GB :: Corsair 750TX :: LG L204WT :: Windows 7 x64

<<<<<<<<<< If you think I've been helpful in anyway rep me :p
farinha is offline  
Old 05-19-2010, 12:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: CPU Goes to 100% when running WMP or VLC

That is a lot of spikes - i would see what is eating up CPU usage. I don't know what all your doing but 1.7 gb of used RAM isn't horrible if you are doing stuff - i've be more worried about the CPU spikes.

Run memtest to ensure you have good RAM.
Check the task manager to see what process is spiking.
Kill that process if it isn't necessary.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 05-19-2010, 02:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: CPU Goes to 100% when running WMP or VLC

Are you watching HD videos?
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 05-19-2010, 03:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 44
Default Re: CPU Goes to 100% when running WMP or VLC

No just regular videos. Actually before the ram upgrade HD videos would go really slowly after awhile, whereas they're now much smoother. This is an image of what the cpu actually does once it starts hitting 100% usage. I'm considering doing a fresh install to see if that'll help, it's just a lot of hassle if its only a minor software problem somewhere, especially if it turns out that it doesn't work.

farinha: On the process its usually one of the browser's that's using the most CPU, so if I turn that off everything works ok. Looking at your folding tagI remember installing folding@home right after the RAM upgrade, but removed it after a few hours, could the residual of that that be one of the issues affecting this old laptop?

__________________
Running OS: Windows XP Professional with SP2
Shadow Rider is offline  
Old 05-19-2010, 10:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,663
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: CPU Goes to 100% when running WMP or VLC

Doubtful that f@h would be causing this problem.
How many tabs do you usually have open on your browser?
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 05-20-2010, 07:39 AM   #8 (permalink)
 
farinha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 866
Default Re: CPU Goes to 100% when running WMP or VLC

If you're on facebook or other pages that is always refreshing then it will use processor cycles but I doubt it't that much...

Doubt it is f@h, if it was it would show on task manager under the processes tab.
__________________

ASUS P5P77D :: INTEL i5 750@3.6 GHz :: Asus HD4890 :: 4GB Gskill Ripjaw 1600MHz CL7 :: WD Black 1TB :: SSD OCZ Vertex2 60GB :: Corsair 750TX :: LG L204WT :: Windows 7 x64

<<<<<<<<<< If you think I've been helpful in anyway rep me :p
farinha is offline  
Old 05-20-2010, 05:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 44
Default Re: CPU Goes to 100% when running WMP or VLC

Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ULphIRE View Post
Doubtful that f@h would be causing this problem.
How many tabs do you usually have open on your browser?
Maybe 10 per browser, Opera+FF. But it used to be that this wasn't a problem I think.
__________________
Running OS: Windows XP Professional with SP2
Shadow Rider is offline  
Old 05-20-2010, 08:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 540
Default Re: CPU Goes to 100% when running WMP or VLC

do you have flashblock? a flash ad might be doing that to your processor. I use flashblock. ads can use up to 50% of my processor. the most cpu usage wmp ever had was 24 that's when I did the syncing to my sansa fuze and it was doing its encoding process.
__________________

remixedcat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU Running at 91 C!!! HELP! King$nake Overclocking and Modding 9 02-20-2008 11:20 AM
Cpu And Ram questions(and Advise for new my comp) DragenFear System Upgrades 20 01-06-2008 07:19 PM
Overclocked 3.2ghz Pentium D processor by 15% EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 1 12-19-2007 11:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.