cpu fried? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-17-2008, 02:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 539
Default cpu fried?

I think its my cpu, because like it was having trouble starting up, I had to take off the overclock. Prime 95 just frooze my computer and stuff like that. Anyway to know for sure? O and how would intel know I overclocked? couldn't I just send it back for a new chip?
__________________

harnar123 is offline  
Old 11-17-2008, 02:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default Re: cpu fried?

not sure if Intel would know you overclocked....but you may have over volted/ heated your CPU,...make sure to take off the overclock pull it out, if it started back up after the freeze then you didn't kill it
__________________

__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 11-17-2008, 02:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: cpu fried?

Quote:
Originally Posted by harnar123 View Post
I think its my cpu, because like it was having trouble starting up, I had to take off the overclock. Prime 95 just frooze my computer and stuff like that. Anyway to know for sure? O and how would intel know I overclocked? couldn't I just send it back for a new chip?
No you couldn't send it back. With overclocking you will literally fry the circitry on the chip, there will actually be physical damange (may not be visible).

Intel or AMD WILL KNOW if your chip malfunctioned b/c of overclocking and will not RMA the product if it was overclocked.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 11-17-2008, 03:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: cpu fried?

Unless you tell them your CPU Fan crapped out and they are gullible to believe it, then you might be able to..
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-17-2008, 05:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 539
Default Re: cpu fried?

en, well I mean it still runs, and just played a hour of fallout at stock setting. I am pretty confused.
harnar123 is offline  
Old 11-17-2008, 05:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: cpu fried?

As captain said, if you can still boot up then you didn't fry the cpu.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 11-17-2008, 05:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: cpu fried?

Quote:
Originally Posted by harnar123 View Post
en, well I mean it still runs, and just played a hour of fallout at stock setting. I am pretty confused.
Its overheating then, not frying
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-18-2008, 02:29 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 539
Default Re: cpu fried?

um, well I ran prime 95 for a while, and the temps didn't get very high, like 42c max
harnar123 is offline  
Old 11-18-2008, 09:52 AM   #9 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default Re: cpu fried?

while overclocked? or while stock?
__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 11-18-2008, 03:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 539
Default Re: cpu fried?

Ok, basicly I set my gpu fan to 100% instead and like far cry two just messed up instantly at 750,1866,1021. I think something is fried! because it didn't even get over 43c before the game just got it in the butt.
__________________

harnar123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer without CPU fan? lazycat Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 10-28-2008 12:01 AM
Looking to get a new GFX Card and possibly a CPU... What cooling would I need? EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 17 04-19-2008 11:20 PM
Overclocked 3.2ghz Pentium D processor by 15% EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 1 12-19-2007 11:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.