CPU Fan Speed Warning - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-15-2005, 07:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
TonCrafter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 879
Default CPU Fan Speed Warning

My comp just started displaying a 'cpu fan speed low' warning upon startup. Any ideas why that may be happening? Also, I'm hearing a clicking sound when it happens sometimes.


Thanks all
__________________

__________________
Abit IP35 Pro
Core 2 Duo 2.2ghz
eVGA GTX460 1GB
2gig Crucial Ballistix Ram
PC Power & Cooling 510
------------------------------------------
2.33ghz Core 2 Duo Macbook Pro
TonCrafter is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 07:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

It means you need to check it out.

Crack your case and look at it. If it is filthy, clean it with compressed air. Taking it off to do so is better (the fan, not the whole heatsink). Blow it and the HS out really good.

If it's not, or still doesn't spin fast enough, replace it, period.

Oh, turn off and unplug your comp before you open it or clean it.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 07:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
TonCrafter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 879
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trotter
It means you need to check it out.

Crack your case and look at it. If it is filthy, clean it with compressed air. Taking it off to do so is better (the fan, not the whole heatsink). Blow it and the HS out really good.

If it's not, or still doesn't spin fast enough, replace it, period.

Oh, turn off and unplug your comp before you open it or clean it.

Yeah, Ive been inside already. Everything is spotless. Here's the weird part though. I'm not getting the warning everytime I start up. Just here and there. Make any sense?
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro
Core 2 Duo 2.2ghz
eVGA GTX460 1GB
2gig Crucial Ballistix Ram
PC Power & Cooling 510
------------------------------------------
2.33ghz Core 2 Duo Macbook Pro
TonCrafter is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 07:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Yeah. Your fan is dying.

Replace it ASAP.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 07:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Monitor it closely and if it stops power down yur computer immediately. Make sure your fan is broken before buying a new fan.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 08:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
TonCrafter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 879
Default

The comp is still under waranty, so Alienware will have to foot the bill if something goes wrong.................and I'm sure it will. I've learned one thing from this comp so far. DO NOT BUY ALIENWARE. The comp worked great for a few months, now its going to crap.
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro
Core 2 Duo 2.2ghz
eVGA GTX460 1GB
2gig Crucial Ballistix Ram
PC Power & Cooling 510
------------------------------------------
2.33ghz Core 2 Duo Macbook Pro
TonCrafter is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 08:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Those ppl at Alienware probably don't know how to build comps I just read a thread about a guy who asked his routers' manufacturer about NAT, and they didn't know what he was talking about.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 12:10 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
TonCrafter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 879
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor
Those ppl at Alienware probably don't know how to build comps I just read a thread about a guy who asked his routers' manufacturer about NAT, and they didn't know what he was talking about.
I'm not sure, but like I said. The comp worked great for awhile, but now it seems like someone threw a 'go to crap' switch on it. lol
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro
Core 2 Duo 2.2ghz
eVGA GTX460 1GB
2gig Crucial Ballistix Ram
PC Power & Cooling 510
------------------------------------------
2.33ghz Core 2 Duo Macbook Pro
TonCrafter is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 01:19 AM   #9 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: CPU Fan Speed Warning

Quote:
Originally posted by TonCrafter
My comp just started displaying a 'cpu fan speed low' warning upon startup. Any ideas why that may be happening? Also, I'm hearing a clicking sound when it happens sometimes.


Thanks all
Open up the case and look at it.
Is you fan spinning fast?
Is your fan spinning at all?

With answer is NO to 1 or both of those question, then you need to replace your Heat Sink and Fan.

Every six months or I check my CPU fan just to make sure it's still functioning. Exspecially when I am about enter summer.

Quote:
Originally posted by TonCrafter
The comp is still under waranty, so Alienware will have to foot the bill if something goes wrong.................and I'm sure it will. I've learned one thing from this comp so far. DO NOT BUY ALIENWARE. The comp worked great for a few months, now its going to crap.
Fans and Warranty are a little bit of a grey area as I have seen computer stores say "It's Wear And Tear"
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.