CPU fan error! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-23-2012, 09:00 AM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: CPU fan error!

Sheepykins, you're not helping.

Don't you have case fans that you can use?
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-23-2012, 10:49 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 16
Default Re: CPU fan error!

Ok so the bios temperature is 43 degrees C max. I am not sure if that is high or no... for a i7.

There is one case fan...(I am not good when it comes to plugging in/out the wires)


Edit: I believe that this computer is overclocked (Is there a way to find out?), would that affect anything to the temperatures?
__________________

Toasted is offline  
Old 02-23-2012, 11:25 AM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: CPU fan error!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasted View Post
Ok so the bios temperature is 43 degrees C max. I am not sure if that is high or no... for a i7.

There is one case fan...(I am not good when it comes to plugging in/out the wires)


Edit: I believe that this computer is overclocked (Is there a way to find out?), would that affect anything to the temperatures?
If the temp for your i7 is at 43c and holding steady its good for now.
If you think you maybe overclocked, go back inside your bios and see if anything notes it being pushed passed its default clock speed.
If you can reset your bios to minimal settings and save it, check your bios hardware mamangement and make sure everything is good.
Reboot and go back to bios, if you see your default speed and your cpu holding 43c or below, you have nothing more to worry about.

Keep an eye on your cpu cores tempature, if it starts going passed 60c and starts to reach 90c, do not risk it and just shut it off and come back here for help or call intel directly.

Core i7's i5's and i3's can only withstand a high heat of 110.
-RockMan- is offline  
Old 02-23-2012, 11:54 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
GhOsT1321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 804
Default Re: CPU fan error!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike-Techno-Thug View Post
If the temp for your i7 is at 43c and holding steady its good for now.
If you think you maybe overclocked, go back inside your bios and see if anything notes it being pushed passed its default clock speed.
If you can reset your bios to minimal settings and save it, check your bios hardware mamangement and make sure everything is good.
Reboot and go back to bios, if you see your default speed and your cpu holding 43c or below, you have nothing more to worry about.

Keep an eye on your cpu cores tempature, if it starts going passed 60c and starts to reach 90c, do not risk it and just shut it off and come back here for help or call intel directly.

Core i7's i5's and i3's can only withstand a high heat of 110.
I believe his i7 can become damaged at 67.9°C
Intel® Core

Edit: hmm, I'm not so sure about that now. The Tcase seems to be the max temperature for the center of the heatspreader, while temp monitoring programs monitor the cores thermal sensor.
What is Tcase VS Tjunction? - Yahoo! Answers
__________________
Build to be updated, a reminder to myself.
GhOsT1321 is offline  
Old 02-23-2012, 12:09 PM   #15 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: CPU fan error!

Quote:
Originally Posted by GhOsT1321 View Post
I believe his i7 can become damaged at 67.9°C
Intel® Core

Edit: hmm, I'm not so sure about that now. The Tcase seems to be the max temperature for the center of the heatspreader, while temp monitoring programs monitor the cores thermal sensor.
What is Tcase VS Tjunction? - Yahoo! Answers
heh, not quite man, we both we're little off the mark.
Core i7 high temperature - CPUs - CPU-Components
That should explain how high it will get though if it reaches 100c he needs to shut it down and seek help.
If your curious though phenom's and athlons can only withstand a heat of 90c.
After that, if your motherboard has a alarm build in it will sound like car alarm system from a mercedes and just shut itself down to prevent damage.
Scared the hell out of me and a close neighbor of mine last year. #_#
-RockMan- is offline  
Old 02-23-2012, 10:06 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 16
Default Re: CPU fan error!

The cpu idle is 45-46 degrees now in bios (computer been turned on almost 12 hours now.)

I went to bios, I don't see anything about the clock speed. However, There is an option that states;

CPU level: [Auto], [i7 975-3.30] [i7-crazy]

and the CPU level is set to [Auto]

Is there any other way to check of its OC?

Should I just bring my computer to the repair shop and ask to change my heatsink? Or is there a way to fix it without costing me.
Toasted is offline  
Old 02-24-2012, 08:44 AM   #17 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: CPU fan error!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasted View Post
The cpu idle is 45-46 degrees now in bios (computer been turned on almost 12 hours now.)

I went to bios, I don't see anything about the clock speed. However, There is an option that states;

CPU level: [Auto], [i7 975-3.30] [i7-crazy]

and the CPU level is set to [Auto]

Is there any other way to check of its OC?

Should I just bring my computer to the repair shop and ask to change my heatsink? Or is there a way to fix it without costing me.
Proivde me your motherboard model number and I'll look up the settings.
If you feel comfortable with changing your heatsink do so.
May I ask what size case you may have, if its a mid atx or normal atx tower case you should have some good options available to you.

Newegg.com - XIGMATEK LOKI SD963 92mm HYPRO Bearing CPU Cooler bracket included I7 i5 775 1155 AMD and dual fan push pull compatible
Newegg.com - ARCTIC COOLING Arctic Cooling MX-4 AC-MX4 4 gram (g) All-Around Thermal Compound
Even I use tuniq-x2 and x4, currently its not in stock by newegg for now.
That artic cooling thermal paste should work just as good if not better then tuniq.

Check google videos or youtube for install videos on this heatsink.
-RockMan- is offline  
Old 02-24-2012, 02:57 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 16
Default Re: CPU fan error!

I don't know the model number but it is Asus Rampage Extreme III. As for the case, I believe its normal atx
__________________

Toasted is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cpu fan error CarlH67 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 04-06-2011 09:09 AM
CPU Fan error! Tenenbaum Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 06-18-2009 06:52 PM
CPU Fan Error Phaint Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 12-29-2008 01:58 PM
BIOS says: CPU Fan Error? LegendBreath Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-11-2006 12:17 AM
CPU Fan error? mystikast Overclocking and Modding 5 04-12-2005 03:36 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.