CPU fan error! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-22-2012, 06:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 16
Default CPU fan error!

It has been weeks now, in the boot, it says: "CPU fan Error! Press F1 to Resume"


It only gives me the error in cold reboot. I opened the case today and turned it on, the fan is spinning fine. What should I do??

My computer spec:

MOBO: Asus rampage extreme III
Processor: Intel i7 CPU 950 @ 3.07(8 cpus), ~3.1 ghz
Memory: 4096 RAM
Direct X 11

GeForce GTX 460
__________________

Toasted is offline  
Old 02-22-2012, 07:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: CPU fan error!

Get HWMonitor and show us a screenshot. The fan may be a at a lower speed than the system likes. I'd also worry about overheating.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-22-2012, 07:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
GhOsT1321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 804
Default Re: CPU fan error!

It can also cause an error if set too high or another interface is used to connect the fan (for example, my Fan mate 2).
IIRC, 3500RPM+ can sometimes throw an error regarding the fan.
__________________
Build to be updated, a reminder to myself.
GhOsT1321 is offline  
Old 02-22-2012, 07:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 16
Default Re: CPU fan error!

I don't know how to post attachment here, but I have link i uploaded picture there.

Here is the picture

http://imgur.com/3xJRL
Toasted is offline  
Old 02-22-2012, 07:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: CPU fan error!

Is that at idle? Your temps are a bit hot. Did you dust your system out recently? I could be the dust build up that is making the fan spin slower.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-22-2012, 08:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 16
Default Re: CPU fan error!

I played a game before I took a screenshot. Here is another screenshot after not playing the game.

http://imgur.com/ar8Ly

I took out most of the dust from the CPU fan(It is not preventing the fan to spin)
Toasted is offline  
Old 02-22-2012, 09:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: CPU fan error!

But still, that is a bit hot. I would look at re-greasing the heatsink. Also, do you have a spare fan that you can test it with? To see if it does it again?
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-22-2012, 11:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 16
Default Re: CPU fan error!

No, I don't have a spare fan
Toasted is offline  
Old 02-22-2012, 11:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Worcestershire, England
Posts: 556
Send a message via MSN to Sheepykins
Default Re: CPU fan error!

what an apt username for a man with a busted fan
Sheepykins is offline  
Old 02-23-2012, 12:00 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 16
Default Re: CPU fan error!

I will see and post the idle temp from bios later
__________________

Toasted is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cpu fan error CarlH67 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 04-06-2011 09:09 AM
CPU Fan error! Tenenbaum Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 06-18-2009 06:52 PM
CPU Fan Error Phaint Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 12-29-2008 01:58 PM
BIOS says: CPU Fan Error? LegendBreath Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-11-2006 12:17 AM
CPU Fan error? mystikast Overclocking and Modding 5 04-12-2005 03:36 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.