CPU Death symptoms - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-22-2005, 04:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 159
Send a message via Yahoo to kizzeith
Question CPU Death symptoms

I am having some problems with my system...i think its the mobo, but it could be the CPU. I can turn the system on, and it powers...fans spinning etc (heatsink too) but no Video on screen.

Anyways, I am wondering what the symptoms are of a dead processor. Any help is appreciated!

Thanks
__________________

__________________
Gateway Machine - I know...I sold out...if I could do it over I'd have built like I used to :(
MS Vista Premium 32-bit
AMD Phenom (9500) Quad-core Processor 2.20 ghz
500GB hard drive
3GB DDR2 RAM
2 Free PCI-E slots x1
1 Free PCI-E x16
kizzeith is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 04:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

no beep codes? is there hdd activity that would indicate your os is starting to load. i would check the graphics card first, for some reason everyone assumes cpu first when they get no video. try removing and reseating the graphics card and then trying it in another computer if possible.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 09:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 104
Send a message via AIM to bsnyder100
Default

Yea... I once had the same issue with my computer! Beilieve it or not it was the monitor the video card. I would try another video card if you have acess to one first, however. Good Luck
__________________
-Be curious it will lead you to all four corners of the world-

<a href=\"http://photobucket.com\" target=\"_blank\"><img src=\"http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b67/bsnyder100/12124.gif\" border=\"0\" alt=\"Image hosting by Photobucket\"></a>
bsnyder100 is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 03:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 159
Send a message via Yahoo to kizzeith
Default

graphics card works...doesnt even power up (fan doesnt run) when plugged in to this mobo....I think its the mobo actually, i just wanted to hear some opinions as i have no way of confirming it is the cpu. I unfortunately dont have a pci card to check out, but I discovered that this board is under warranty (3 yr manufacturer!) and I almost fainted when I found the receipt in my giant box of random crap, so I guess its an early christmas for me!

Now I get to see Asus' tech support in action...
__________________
Gateway Machine - I know...I sold out...if I could do it over I'd have built like I used to :(
MS Vista Premium 32-bit
AMD Phenom (9500) Quad-core Processor 2.20 ghz
500GB hard drive
3GB DDR2 RAM
2 Free PCI-E slots x1
1 Free PCI-E x16
kizzeith is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 03:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 104
Send a message via AIM to bsnyder100
Default

Go for it....
__________________
-Be curious it will lead you to all four corners of the world-

<a href=\"http://photobucket.com\" target=\"_blank\"><img src=\"http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b67/bsnyder100/12124.gif\" border=\"0\" alt=\"Image hosting by Photobucket\"></a>
bsnyder100 is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 03:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 159
Send a message via Yahoo to kizzeith
Default

btw thanks!!!
__________________
Gateway Machine - I know...I sold out...if I could do it over I'd have built like I used to :(
MS Vista Premium 32-bit
AMD Phenom (9500) Quad-core Processor 2.20 ghz
500GB hard drive
3GB DDR2 RAM
2 Free PCI-E slots x1
1 Free PCI-E x16
kizzeith is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 03:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 159
Send a message via Yahoo to kizzeith
Default

the guy from asus told me to do something but I dunno if I quite heard him correctly, and of course I dont want to sound like a moron to a techie so I jsut said alright I will! Does this make sense?:

1. remove everything including cpu
2. CMOS reset
3. seat cpu/heatsink and turn on...having speakers hooked up will then announce if everything is ok
4. Add vid card and listen if there is vga
5. Call him back

Sound about right? Anything else anyone can think of that I can try?
__________________
Gateway Machine - I know...I sold out...if I could do it over I'd have built like I used to :(
MS Vista Premium 32-bit
AMD Phenom (9500) Quad-core Processor 2.20 ghz
500GB hard drive
3GB DDR2 RAM
2 Free PCI-E slots x1
1 Free PCI-E x16
kizzeith is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 07:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 81
Send a message via ICQ to Dngrsone Send a message via Yahoo to Dngrsone
Default

Yes, that sounds right. Are you certain the PSU is good?
Dngrsone is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 08:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

yeah sounds reasonable. if i were you i wouldn't worry about sounding like a moron to tech support 1. they're paid to put up with peoples crap 2. it's normally the other way around
Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 08:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

If it is the CPU or memory you should get a beep code form your Bios. I'm going wiht the PSU....300watts will not cut it with all that stuff you are running.
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.