CPU change - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-23-2006, 02:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default CPU change

Hi
Could sombody help, i`m trying to put a AMD Athlon 3200+ into a PC that has a 2000+. but its being seen as a 1900+ does anybody know whats up???

Thanks and HI!!
__________________

phellover is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 04:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

it's probably due to the memory speed/FSB being lowered on the old board either due to the motherboards age or the memory you are using. check the FSB, it should be 200mhz.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 06:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
djb
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 64
Default

my oppinion is to check out the manual of the motherboard, first to see if is supporting the new processor, and if yes, what configuration you have to use on it to boot with the correct bus speed and voltages. if you lost the manual try to search on the manufactures web page for support. good work!
djb is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 11:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
it's probably due to the memory speed/FSB being lowered on the old board either due to the motherboards age or the memory you are using. check the FSB, it should be 200mhz.
Hi, I checked it out i am putting it onto a ECS K7VMM+ and it said it is 200mhz.
Anything else i could try?
phellover is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 06:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

clock multipliere, bios options, mb jumpers/dips, cpu voltage, etc...make it to what the cpu is meant for and ull get that preformance
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.