CPU caused Motherboard to die twice? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-28-2006, 07:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
Default CPU caused Motherboard to die twice?

Hi I want to buy a amd 4000 CPU from this guy, it has been used for for 4 months, but this is what he says about it:

"I used the chip for a good solid two months on a ASUS A8N-E Motherboard. I then bought a larger graphics card, and not realizing I didn't have a large enough power supply the motherboard stopped responding.. I sent the board back to be fixed and I got it back. I returned the graphics card and used an old one of mine not as powerful. I also bought a new PSU and everything worked again for about 1 week then the board died again. I bought a new A8N-E board which worked for about two weeks then it died also. I can't say for sure if the CPU is causing these boards to die on me, but I am leaning more to the idea that the boards are just defect. I can't see why I CPU would mess up a board after a week of using it.

I just want to warn people that I am not responsible if your board dies from the CPU I am selling. It really shouldn't if the board is made right and I now have grown to never buy a ASUS board again. But I can't guarantee anything. I recommend if you are really concerned about the chip hurting your board maybe send it back to AMD and have them run a test on it to make sure it's 100% ok. One pin did bend VERY slightly when I took it out once, but I straightened it out. I tested it and it now fits ok into the socket. "


Please provide your input, and is this possible?
Thanks alot
__________________

ezman is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 09:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Sounds like a bad PSU everytime.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 09:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
Default

How could a PSU demage a motherboard?
You think I should buy the CPU?
ezman is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 01:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ezman
How could a PSU demage a motherboard?
You think I should buy the CPU?
A cpu should not fry a motherboard unless its under extreme overclock. Anyway i would buy the cpu and if it is stuff you can probably get it replaced under warranty pretty easy.

I would say it was a PSU problem also, or that guy just really sux at puttin PCs together.
__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 01:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Thank you for your input
ezman is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 12:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

If the PSU doesn't provide the correct voltages to its components, it will destroy everything in the PC.

As mentioned, he had a POS PSU which couldn't handle the load which made the PSU screw up and fry some components.
turtile is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 01:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

I would stay away from it myself...
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 03:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
Default

thanks
__________________

ezman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.