cpu being clocked at 790 mhz?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-15-2011, 05:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
Default cpu being clocked at 790 mhz??

so i wanted to see if my computer could run this game (the game is old so i thought it would had no problem like most other old games) and went to check my specs. i rand the directx diag, and saw that my cpu is at 790 mhz which dosent make any sense since it usually around 2.0 ghz. anyway i thought it messed up and went to other sources and tools all say the same thing. my computer has been going slowely lately but i thought it was because of its age (4 years). is there a way to get cpu back up to its normal speed?

Here my specs:
CPU: AMD turion 64 X2 TL-60 (2 cpus)
Memory: 2.2 gigs
Graphics card: ATI Radeon x1200
OS: WIN 7 ultimate 32
__________________

that70sdude is offline  
Old 08-15-2011, 06:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: cpu being clocked at 790 mhz??

Both of what you see is true, 790mhz and 2000mhz

To save power, all cpu's decrease their speed, but when you start workig it, it goes back up.
Iyts called "Cool'n Quiet" for AMD, speedsteping for Intel.

Welcome to TF btw.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 08-15-2011, 07:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
Default Re: cpu being clocked at 790 mhz??

ok thank you for your help
that70sdude is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
eVGA Super Clocked 8800gt SapperX Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 11 04-21-2009 07:01 AM
Palit 4870 x2 oc clocked at stock 750 mhz?? p.s. Overclocking and Modding 0 12-14-2008 03:18 PM
Is my processor clocked correct ? viper880 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 18 06-29-2007 01:03 PM
why does some ram get clocked 3 times? CntdwnToExtn Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 9 03-28-2005 01:06 AM
Is my Vid. Card not clocked right? pc_boy Overclocking and Modding 11 12-23-2004 04:02 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.