cpu being clocked at 790 mhz?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-15-2011, 04:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
Default cpu being clocked at 790 mhz??

so i wanted to see if my computer could run this game (the game is old so i thought it would had no problem like most other old games) and went to check my specs. i rand the directx diag, and saw that my cpu is at 790 mhz which dosent make any sense since it usually around 2.0 ghz. anyway i thought it messed up and went to other sources and tools all say the same thing. my computer has been going slowely lately but i thought it was because of its age (4 years). is there a way to get cpu back up to its normal speed?

Here my specs:
CPU: AMD turion 64 X2 TL-60 (2 cpus)
Memory: 2.2 gigs
Graphics card: ATI Radeon x1200
OS: WIN 7 ultimate 32

that70sdude is offline  
Old 08-15-2011, 05:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
patonb's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,737
Default Re: cpu being clocked at 790 mhz??

Both of what you see is true, 790mhz and 2000mhz

To save power, all cpu's decrease their speed, but when you start workig it, it goes back up.
Iyts called "Cool'n Quiet" for AMD, speedsteping for Intel.

Welcome to TF btw.

Foldie = i7 950@ 4.0Ghz Gigabyte x58a-ud3r EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 3x2gb OCZ Gold Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 08-15-2011, 06:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
Default Re: cpu being clocked at 790 mhz??

ok thank you for your help
that70sdude is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
eVGA Super Clocked 8800gt SapperX Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 11 04-21-2009 06:01 AM
Palit 4870 x2 oc clocked at stock 750 mhz?? p.s. Overclocking and Modding 0 12-14-2008 02:18 PM
Is my processor clocked correct ? viper880 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 18 06-29-2007 12:03 PM
why does some ram get clocked 3 times? CntdwnToExtn Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 9 03-28-2005 12:06 AM
Is my Vid. Card not clocked right? pc_boy Overclocking and Modding 11 12-23-2004 03:02 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:11 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.