Couple questions... - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-01-2014, 10:44 PM   #21 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Couple questions...

Newegg has the same PSU for $50. plus a $10. rebate (Brings the price to $40. IF you do get a rebate)
Newegg.com - EVGA 500 B 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified 500W Active PFC ATX12V v2.31/EPS 12V v2.91 3 Year Warranty 100-B1-0500-KR Power Supply
__________________

Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2014, 05:04 PM   #22 (permalink)
Awkward moment when...
 
Gabis1207's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 252
Default Re: Couple questions...

Update:

Upgraded the PSU to the EVGA 500W bronze.
Result: Nothing different.

Tested on a separate monitor, after installing new PSU.
Result: Nothing different.


So, apparently, the issue isn't the power supply, nor is it the display device.
What else can you guys suggest?
__________________

Gabis1207 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2014, 05:54 PM   #23 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default Re: Couple questions...

do you have another machine to test the GPU on to make sure it's not at fault?
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2014, 05:56 PM   #24 (permalink)
Awkward moment when...
 
Gabis1207's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 252
Default Re: Couple questions...

I used the HDMI and VGA that's installed on the motherboard as well as those on the graphics card. At this point, I'm pretty sure that whether or not the GPU is bad is irrelevant.

The last test I did was with the CPU and cooling fan, the 6Gb of RAM, HDD, and CD drive.

I had the computer connected to a monitor from downstairs that my mom had just finished using, and that too gave 'no signal'.

What's the likelyhood of my motherboard being the piece at fault?
Gabis1207 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2014, 06:31 PM   #25 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default Re: Couple questions...

if onboard graphics as well PCIe is showing nothing, then it's logical...

But then so was the inadequate PSU (or so we thought)

I assume you bought the mobo new. Any change you can return it and swap it out for another one?
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2014, 06:34 PM   #26 (permalink)
Awkward moment when...
 
Gabis1207's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 252
Default Re: Couple questions...

It's new, yes and can be returned, although the store is a bit of a drive from where I'm at.

Aside from that, is there any little thing that I may have overlooked?
Gabis1207 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2014, 06:43 PM   #27 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Couple questions...

Try removing the board from the case, Set the board on a non-conductive surface and leave one stick of memory, fan/heatsink and cpu. Connect the power supply to the 20/24 and the 8 pin cpu connectors, and connect the on board video to your monitor. Temporarily jump out the power on terminal on the front header of the board and see if it will POST
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2014, 06:46 PM   #28 (permalink)
Awkward moment when...
 
Gabis1207's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 252
Default Re: Couple questions...

Would that be any different than leaving it in the case with only one stick of ram?

And exactly what would I do to 'jump out' power onto the front header?
Gabis1207 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2014, 06:55 PM   #29 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Couple questions...

You should pull the board out of the case, to see if something from the case is causing the board not to work....you'll need to do that anyway if your going to take it in for testing or to rma.

The power switch on the case connects to the front pin header (the pins on the board the you connect the hdd, system LED's the power switch and reset switch) You probably can't have the power switch connected to the front header if you have the board out of the case so you'll need to use a small screw driver to "jump out" or "short" the PWR terminals to provide power on the board
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2014, 06:58 PM   #30 (permalink)
Awkward moment when...
 
Gabis1207's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 252
Default Re: Couple questions...

The board has a power button on it, underneath a 'Dr. Debug' dual seven-segment display, for reading POST error codes.
__________________

Gabis1207 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
help building computer

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.