this could be a problem.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-22-2005, 06:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 67
Default this could be a problem....

a friend of mine came over and left me his computer and i must say im

stumped anybody have an idea of why his computer reboots right before the

OS is about to start up?
__________________

LoneWolf is offline  
Old 08-22-2005, 07:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 14
Default

could be a number of things, what OS is he running?
__________________

Blue_Nine is offline  
Old 08-22-2005, 09:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 67
Default

windows xp pro sp2
LoneWolf is offline  
Old 08-22-2005, 10:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

What do you mean "right before the OS starts up"? Do you mean immediatly after the POST screen? Or do you actually get to the windows loading screen? If it's the first case, then I would check BIOs for any settings on error recovery (ie what the comp should do after an error). You might be able to cause the computer to do nothing upon post errors (ie just sit there), then gradually reset the things to "reboot on error" and see what is causeing the problem. If you don't want to do that, unplug all extraneous periphials (just leave RAM, HD and video card) and see if it boots that way, then plug them back in one by one to see what is the problem. Just some thoughts I had and the general suggestions for boot up issues, I have never actually tried any myself.

If it gets to the windows loading screen, try the above tip with removing hardware, and if it still doesn't work, reboot it and keep hitting F8, which should bring up some boot options for windows, select safe mode and see if it boots that way. If it dows, while in safe mode, open msconfig and disable all startup items, and see if it works normally. Then renable them to see what is causing the problem.
__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Old 08-22-2005, 05:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default

ive run into this problem a few times.

basically, a rewrite SHOULD fix it. but if it doesnt, you should be able to tell right away, because the formatting of the drive will take literally hours, no matter the size of the harddrive. if that occurs, his problem is probably a harddrive. try strapping in that drive as a slave to another machine to test it.

if that doesnt work, then i'd try clearing the CMOS and seeing what happens, and go from there.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 08-23-2005, 10:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to Jaybness Send a message via Yahoo to Jaybness
Default

Is it an infinite loop, then? Usually when I deal with computers rebooting before they make it to windows, I run CHKDSK under recovery console first (from an XP CD--if you need help, just ask). I also try FIXMBR/FIXBOOT. Does the unit give a real quick bluescreen, by chance? Lastly, have you tested the HDD using a Fitness Test? (I use DFT regularly...does pretty good). Look this post over and lemme know some more info. I have dealt with a billion "infinite loop" problems in my time.

~Josh
Jaybness is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 01:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 67
Default

hey guys i tired all the things you said listed and it worked i dont know why but it kept rebooting right after the load screen and just kept on doing it even if i left it alone it would just keep on doing it over and over it really sucked but then i tired thoes commands jay said to try and it fixed my problems however there were still errors and it lagged really bad so i figured what hikaricloud said a rewrite could be usefull now everythings a ok thanks again everyone......
__________________

LoneWolf is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.