Corsair GS700 PSU Won't Start - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-21-2010, 10:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Default Corsair GS700 PSU Won't Start

Another PSU question, yay. I recently upgraded to a Corsair 700w Gaming Series PSU. Well, I plug in all the components to my PSU and I get a 1 second run life and power down.

I then have to unplug the PSU and back in to get it to run again for that one second.

The tricky part is I know I didn't fry the mobo because when I connect my old PSU everything starts up fine. No issues, nothing. Reconnect the GS 700 and again one second and nothing. I have tried this four times now, test with the GS 700 and get nothing but a second of run life, reconnect old PSU with all hardware everything loads up fine, reconnect GS 700 and another 1 second fail.

And yes I removed and put back in the CMOS battery.

I have tried it with just the MOBO and it starts the fans for only a second then powers down. I have removed ram sticks and any unneeded hardware yet still nothing but a second of spin life.

I have conducted the paper clip test as well, it works with the light load of the case fan. Which means the PSU isn't totally dead and still turns on when shorted but when connected to the mother board it flops.

However, this oddness occured, when the cords are moved a certain way in the 24pin ATX the case fans and pc come to life for brief splits then die, then come on then die.

Recap:

- CMOS Battery removed and put back in, still fails to start.

- CPU Power connector and ATX are in, still fails to start.

- Passed paper clip test.

- Old PSU will start all hardware.

- New Psu will not start MoBo alone with no hardware.

Questions:

- Is there a faulty wire in the ATX?

-Is the new PSU just bad and can't handle the load of the MoBo?

-Is the new PSU possibly detecting a short and my old PSU didn't?

-Can it still be a switch issue even though my old PSU can turn on my PC with all hardware attached?

-Am I just that fail that I am missing something?
__________________

Epikphail is offline  
Old 11-21-2010, 10:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Corsair GS700 PSU Won't Start

It sounds like you just got a bad power supply. While it rarely happens with a Corsair power supply, it does happen.

Welcome to Corsair :: Tech Support Express
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 11-21-2010, 11:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Default Re: Corsair GS700 PSU Won't Start

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
It sounds like you just got a bad power supply. While it rarely happens with a Corsair power supply, it does happen.

Welcome to Corsair :: Tech Support Express
Well back to Best Buy to exchange it I was worried there was a short in my MoBo
Epikphail is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Start Multiple Applications from the Start Menu Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 10-09-2007 08:10 AM
computer freeze on first start and secont start its fine cobra2099 Microsoft Windows and Software 0 03-03-2007 06:35 AM
Create program aliases - Start programs from Start>Run dialog sureshmalankar Microsoft Windows and Software 0 02-10-2007 01:35 PM
Corsair System vs. Corsair Value Select jeelliso New Systems | Building and Buying 3 02-06-2006 04:27 PM
RAM: Difference between Standard Corsair (PC3200) & Corsair CMX PRO (PC3200) ag3 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 06-15-2004 10:57 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.