Corrupted MBR? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-27-2006, 08:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default Corrupted MBR?

Anyone know how to fix this problem? I've run a chkdsk on my hard drive, but that didn't fix it.

Whenever I start up my computer, the XP welcome screen stays up for a couple minutes, then my background pops up, then it doesn't do anything.

I can start the computer in safe mode. My brother thinks its a corrupted MBR or something. I havent done anything to bring this on, except I took out my motherboard to change some screws, and that's it. Plugged everything back in exactly the same.

cyrax is offline  
Old 05-27-2006, 09:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
Alvin.C's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,578
Default Re:


It's not a corrupted Master Boot Record...because you're system has detected your OS already after POST, and has managed to boot Windows successfully.

The problem you're having is that Windows is having difficulties loading the desktop (...user account).

Because you can boot into safe mode, and because processes startup first, I think there's a high chance that a process or service loadng at startup is causing the problem.

But you've also removed and replaced your motherboard. Check to see that all your components are securely plugged into the motherboard.


|Desktop PC| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 8.1 Pro (x64)| |AMD FX 4100 Black Edition 3.6 GHz @ 4.0 GHz OC| |Arctic Cooling Freezer 13 PRO| |Gigabyte Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Super Overclock 1GB| |ASUS M5A78L-M/USB3 Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD SATA III HDD| |Kingston HyperX 8GB PC3-14900 DDR3-1866| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 12:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905

Yeah they all are. What would be the main component that could be causing it? The hard drive? Because if it is, then I might change that SATA cable and put a SATA power cable to a molex convertor to see if that changes anything.
cyrax is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 12:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905

Nevermind, I fixed it. I just did a System Restore to two days ago.
cyrax is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.