Corrupted File Record? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-22-2005, 09:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Default Corrupted File Record?

Hi, I recently deleted one of the partitions (Partition 2) on my first HDD, to remove and reinstall Linux on my system, using Acronis Disk Director 9 on my Windows XP installation on the same drive (Partition 1)

After a reboot, I get the error "Data access error. Press Ctrl+Alt+Del to reboot" right after BIOS summary...

I've tried running fixboot and fixmbr using Windows XP Recovery Console. Running chkdsk produces the error "The volume seems to contain one or more unrecoverable errors".. And then the cursor returns to the command prompt.

I've tried the following as well:
Using all disk utilities on Ultimate Boot CD for Windows
Running GRC SpinRite Boot CD
Running Seagate DiskDiag
Running Knoppix (Which I got nothing out of)
And using different NTFS readers to read from the Windows partition, but all produce some read error..

It seems to me that the problem is a corrupted File Record..
Anyone know what I can do about this?

Thanks
Jon
__________________

Jonhoo is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 10:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Try bootcfg /Rebuild
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 10:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Already done..
Jonhoo is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 10:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Try partition magic, fix errors.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 10:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Default

What do you mean?

Do you mean Partition Magic 8.0?
That cost money, doesn't it?

I'll see if I can borrow it from one of my friends.... But do I have to make an ISO image, or what??
Jonhoo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.